© fotolia.com

Employees with children

The possibilities employees have at the University of Münster to organise their professional life in accordance with their family obligations range from statutory rights – such as the claim to parental leave and parental allowance – through flexible working hours and university programmes for the promotion of women to special relief measures fine-tuned to University of Münster staff.

This includes the Servicebüro Familie (Family Service Office) as well as the Dual Career Service. Whereas the Servicebüro Familie serves as a coordination and advice centre for all staff members regarding questions of how to combine family and career, the main task of the Dual Career Service is to help spouses and partners of academics to develop and create their own professional perspective.

Those employees who take a career break in order to raise a child or care for a relative need the support of the University of Münster: training programmes and human resources development measures guarantee that nobody gets out of touch, make sure that skills and qualifications are retained, and facilitate a comeback after the break has ended.

Piggy bank

Financial Aspects

Elterngeld is a parental allowance intended to compensate families for loss of income after the birth of a child.

Paragraph
© Colourbox.de

Legal Aspects

If you are expecting a child, there are a few formalities to be dealt with regarding your employer, in this case the University of Münster.

Kita Chamäleon
© WWU - Angelika Klauser

Child Care

Good child care is essential for parents to be able to concentrate fully on their jobs. There are different kinds of child care for different needs, and many options for families.

Teacher and pupils in the class room
© Colourbox.de

Schools

Münster offers a wealth of different school types and choices for your child’s school career.

ULB Eltern-Kind-Raum
© ULB / Jens Unkenholz

Rooms for Parents with Children

The WWU offers several baby changing rooms, nursing rooms and special rooms for parents where they can work while their children can play.

Couple gets advice
© Colourbox.de

Service and Advice

If the information you need cannot be found on these pages, there is always the option of getting individual advice: in a personal meeting that is tailored to your needs, advice and support can be given in more specific ways.

Eltern und Kind
© fotolia.com

Beschäftigte mit Kind

Die Möglichkeiten zur familiengerechten Gestaltung des Berufslebens an der WWU erstrecken sich von gesetzlich verbrieften Rechten, wie etwa dem Anspruch auf Elternzeit und Elterngeld, über flexible Arbeitszeitmodelle und hochschuleigene Frauenförderprogramme bis hin zu besonderen Entlastungsangeboten speziell für Beschäftigte der WWU. 

Dazu zählen das Servicebüro Familie ebenso wie der Dual Career-Service. Während das Servicebüro Familie allen Beschäftigten im Rahmen der Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf als Beratungs- und Koordinierungsstelle dient, unterstützt der Dual Career-Service vornehmlich Lebens- und Ehepartner von Wissenschaftlern und Wissenschaftlerinnen bei der Gestaltung ihrer beruflichen Perspektive.

Wer für die Kindererziehung oder Pflege eines Angehörigen eine Auszeit vom Beruf nimmt, braucht die Unterstützung der WWU: Weiterbildungsangebote und Personalentwicklungsmaßnahmen lassen den Kontakt nie ganz abbrechen, sichern die Kompetenz der Mitarbeiterin oder des Mitarbeiters und erleichtern den Wiedereinstieg nach dem Ende der Beurlaubungsphase.

Sparschwein

Finanzielles

Elterngeld, Kindergeld & Co: Informationen rund um Anspruchsvoraussetzungen, Anträge und Beratungsstellen.

Rechtsparagraph
© Colourbox.de

Rechtliches

Ist Nachwuchs unterwegs, gilt es, den Arbeitgeber so bald wie möglich zu informieren - denn nun gibt es ein paar Formalitäten zu regeln.

Kita Chamäleon
© WWU - Angelika Klauser

Kinderbetreuung

Eine gute Kinderbetreuung ist Voraussetzung dafür, dass Sie am Arbeitsplatz voll präsent sein können. Es gibt verschiedene Betreuungsformen für unterschiedliche Bedürfnisse.

Lehrerin mit zwei Schülern im Klassenzimmer
© Colourbox.de

Schulen

Münster bietet eine Vielzahl an unterschiedlichen Schulformen und Möglichkeiten, die Schullaufbahn des Kindes zu gestalten.

Junge Frau sitzt zwischen Aktenordnern
© fotodesign-jegg.de-Fotolia.com

Arbeitszeitmodelle

Individuelle Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten der Arbeitszeit und des Arbeitsortes erleichtern die Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf.

ULB Eltern-Kind-Raum
© ULB / Jens Unkenholz

Räume für Eltern und Kinder

Diverse Einrichtungen der WWU bieten Still- und Wickelräume. Zudem gibt es Eltern-Kind-Räume, die ruhige Arbeitsplätze mit Spielecken kombinieren.

Paar in Beratungssituation
© Colourbox.de

Beratungsangebote

Wenn wir an dieser Stelle einmal eine Antwort schuldig bleiben, bietet die persönliche Beratung weitere Möglichkeiten zur Information: Im persönlichen, auf die individuelle Situation abgestimmten Gespräch können Hinweise und Hilfen zielgerichteter gegeben werden.