Chief Information Officer (CIO)

Chief Information Officer (CIO):

Dr. Raimund Vogl (ZIV)
Tel: +49 (0)251 83-31551
Fax: +49 (0)251 83-31555
rvogl@uni-muenster.de

Location: Röntgenstr. 7-13, Rm. 302, 48149 Münster

The Chief Information Officer (CIO) is an appointed official of the Rectorate. He works closely with the IT facilities at the University of Münster which are required to report to him about their activities. He also serves as an intermediary between affected user groups and University departments.

The CIO works to continually develop and improve IT-related strategic goals and implementation concepts for the University in consultation with the IT Steering Committee and in agreement with the directives of the Rectorate. He coordinates all measures in the relevant IT-related fields with the aim of developing the most efficient IT strategies possible and ensuring their implementation in a user-friendly and economical manner.

The responsibilities of the CIO include reviewing the measures put in place by the IT units and assessing their operative implementation, as well as the structures of IT organisation and governance in terms of their suitability and their conformity with the overarching goals of the University's IT strategy. Following consultation with the IT Steering Committee, the CIO then provides the Rectorate with recommendations on making adjustments as required.

The CIO follows current developments in the field of digitalisation which may have potential relevance for the University of Münster, and then offers suggestions for initiating corresponding projects at the University. He advises the Rectorate on IT matters of strategic import, as well as on decisions concerning new IT projects which have a comprehensive character or could have far-reaching repercussions on the overall IT structure. As the chief coordinator of the IT units at the University of Münster, the CIO must be informed of any and all IT-relevant decisions.

Chief Information Officer (CIO)

Chief Information Officer (CIO): Dr. Raimund Vogl (ZIV)
Tel: +49 (0)251 83-31551
Fax: +49 (0)251 83-31555
rvogl@uni-muenster.de
Standort: Röntgenstraße 7-13, Raum 302, 48149 Münster

Der Chief Information Officer (CIO) ist ein Beauftragter des Rektorats. Er arbeitet eng mit den IT-Einrichtungen der WWU zusammen und lässt sich von diesen über ihre Arbeit unterrichten. Er bindet die betroffenen Nutzergruppen und Fachabteilungen ein.

Der CIO entwickelt in einem kontinuierlichen Fortschreibungsprozess die IT-strategischen Ziele und Umsetzungskonzepte für die WWU zur Beratung durch den IV-Lenkungsausschuss und Entscheidung durch das Rektorat. Er koordiniert alle Maßnahmen für die relevanten IT-Themenfelder an der WWU mit dem Ziel, eine möglichst effiziente IT-Strategie zu entwickeln und deren nutzergerechte und wirtschaftliche Umsetzung zu gewährleisten.

Im Rahmen seines Auftrags untersucht er die von den IT-Einheiten der WWU durchgeführten Maßnahmen und deren operative Umsetzung sowie die Strukturen der IT-Organisation und IT-Governance hinsichtlich ihrer Zweckmäßigkeit und ihrer Übereinstimmung mit den übergeordneten Zielen der IT-Strategie der WWU und schlägt nach Beratung durch den IV-Lenkungsausschuss dem Rektorat angemessene Anpassungen vor.

Der CIO beobachtet die potenziell für die WWU relevanten aktuellen Entwicklungen der Digitalisierung und macht Vorschläge für entsprechende Projekte an der WWU. Er berät das Rektorat zu IT-Fragen mit strategischem Einfluss sowie bei Entscheidungen zu neuen IT-Projekten mit übergreifendem Charakter bzw. mit weitreichenden Auswirkungen auf die übergreifende IT-Struktur. Er ist als IT-Gesamtkoordinator von den IT-Einheiten der WWU bei entsprechenden Entscheidungen zu informieren.