Main Priorities & Projects

At the Institute of Sports and Exercise Sciences in Münster, three main topics are addressed and gradually filled content and structure.

  • Education

    The education at the WWU concentrates not only on normative reasoning, but also finding empirical proof for varying assumed preconditions and effects of pedagogical measures in movement, games and sport. The research emphasis in teaching in sports at our university lies in the research of school-related and non-school-related sports and exercise. Regarding the principles of teaching, the main focus is empirical research of formal and informal educational processes. The Department of Sport Pedagogy & Sport History concentrates on anthropological and historical aspects of educational sciences. The research of the Department for the Social Sciences of Sport concentrates on the analyses of social factors which influence the education of sports and exercise.

    A central educational aspect is the research to improve personal development. Developmental improvement is a well-known and frequently researched aspect of sports sciences, but the field is still lacking fundamental principles and empirical studies. Therefore, the departments of the sports sciences combine to fill this research gap, so that possible interventions can lead to faster and better development. This is done by concentrating on various areas where sport is present (schools, teams, etc.), as well as different target groups (age groups, chronically ill, etc.). The Center for Educational Research in Sports (CeBiS) was established at the Institute for Sports Sciences as a research association, which promotes research projects in- and outside of schools, builds partnerships with other universities, and aids in the transfer of knowledge in this field.

  • Expertise

    In this branch of research, the mental and physical requirements for peak performance in sports, as well the enhancement of performance by means of physical and mental training, are addressed. The main departments in this branch are Sports Medicine, Sport Psychology, Human Performance and Training in Sports, and Movement Science. Empirical, experimental and statistical methods are the usual procedure of choice in this research branch. Examples are projects regarding visual attention in sports, the impact of left-handedness on sports, finding patterns in repetitive movements, developing training methods to improve physical and mental performance, and projects regarding effects of home-field advantage.

  • Health

    Many prevalent illnesses in our society are closely linked to lack of exercise and malnutrition. Movement and exercise can therefore offer a systematical approach to prevention, therapy and rehabilitation of illnesses. Since the topic of health can be covered by many different fields of the sports sciences, varying departments contribute to its research. The Department of Movement Science for example is trying to find a way to prevent chronic back pain in cooperation with other departments like the Center for Nonlinear Science in Münster. The Institute for Sports Sciences also researches the effect, which an exact amount of exercise has on the musculoskeletal system, the cardiovascular system, the metabolism and the immune system. The focus in this field lies not only on physical activity in sports, but also on everyday movements. The Department of Sports Psychology addresses topics like the mental effect of injuries in physical education in schools. A specific research topic is, if the overall cooperation in class can prevent injuries from occurring.

The research projects can all be found in their respective departments on our website.

Schwerpunkte & Projekte

Im Institut für Sportwissenschaft in Münster werden drei inhaltliche Schwerpunkte verfolgt, die sukzessive strukturell wie auch inhaltlich ausgebaut werden:

  • Bildung

    In diesem Schwerpunkt geht es sowohl um die normative Begründung als auch um die empirische Überprüfung angenommener Voraussetzungen und Wirkungen pädagogischen Handelns im Feld von Bewegung, Spiel und Sport. Der Forschungsschwerpunkt der Sportpädagogik bzw. der Sportdidaktik liegt in der Bildungs- und Unterrichtsforschung im schulischen und außerschulischen Sport. Während in der Sportdidaktik formelle und informelle Bildungsprozesse vorrangig empirisch untersucht werden, fokussiert die Sportpädagogik/Sportgeschichte anthropologische und historische Zugänge der Bildungsforschung. Der Forschungsschwerpunkt des Arbeitsbereichs Sozialwissenschaften liegt in der Analyse der gesellschaftlichen Voraussetzungen sportbezogener Bildungsprozesse.

    Ein zentraler Bildungsaspekt ist die Forschung zur Entwicklungsförderung. Der Begriff der Entwicklungsförderung wird zwar in sportwissenschaftlichen Kontexten immer häufiger gebraucht. Allerdings mangelt es sowohl an theoretischen Grundlegungen als auch an empirischen Überprüfungen Gemeinsames Anliegen aller Arbeitsbereiche am Institut für Sportwissenschaft ist es, die Grundlagen einer Entwicklungsförderung durch Bewegung, Spiel und Sport in unterschiedlichen Anwendungsfeldern (z.B. Schule, Sportverein) und mit unterschiedlichen Zielgruppen (z.B. Jungen, chronisch Kranke) zu erforschen, um so Hinweise für mögliche Interventionen entwickeln zu können. Das Centrum für Bildungsforschung im Sport (CeBiS) ist ein Forschungsverbund am Institut für Sportwissenschaft mit dem Ziel, Forschungsprojekte zur Bildungsforschung im Sport in schulischen und außerschulischen Feldern zu fördern, Kooperationen mit universitären wie außeruniversitären Partnern zu etablieren sowie den Wissenschaftstransfer zu unterstützen.

  • Expertise

    In diesem Forschungszweig geht es um die physischen und psychischen Bedingungen von Spitzenleistungen im Sport sowie auch deren Steigerung durch physisches und psychologisches Training. In diesem Schwerpunkt sind insbesondere die Arbeitsbereiche Sportpsychologie, Sportliche Leistung und Training, Bewegungswissenschaft sowie Sportmedizin zu finden. In diesem Rahmen wird vorwiegend empirisch-experimentell mit Verwendung komplexer statistischer Verfahren gearbeitet. Beispiele sind Projekte zur visuellen Aufmerksamkeit und zu Linkshändern im Sport, die Mustererkennung bei Ganganalysen, die Entwicklung von Trainingsmethoden zur Steigerung der physischen und psychischen Leistungsfähigkeit (wie z.B. Wahrnehmungstrainings) wie auch sozialpsychologisch orientierte Projekte (wie zum Beispiel zu Selbstkonzepten von Athleten und Zuschauern oder zum Heimvorteil).

  • Gesundheit

    Viele Zivilisationskrankheiten stehen im Zusammenhang mit Bewegungsmangel und Fehlernährung. Bewegung stellt demnach einem systematischen Ansatz für die Prävention, Therapie und Rehabilitation dar. Da dies ein klassisches Querschnittsthema der Sportwissenschaft ist, leisten hierzu verschiedene Arbeitsbereiche Forschungsbeiträge. So ist der Arbeitsbereich Bewegungswissenschaft in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Partnern daran interessiert eine Präventivdiagnostik des chronischen unspezifischen Rückenschmerzes zu entwickeln. Notwendig ist eine interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Wissenschaftsbereichen, wie z.B. dem Center for Nonlinear Science in Münster. Das Institut für Sportmedizin beschäftigt sich u.a. mit der Dosis-Wirkungsbeziehung von Bewegung und Sport auf den Bewegungsapparat, das Herzkreislaufsystem, den Stoffwechsel und das Immunsystem. Dabei zielt der wissenschaftliche Fokus nicht allein auf die sportliche Aktivität sondern auch auf die quantitative Erfassung und strukturelle Aufhellung körperlicher Alltagsaktivität. Der Arbeitsbereich Sportpsychologie beschäftigt sich bspw. mit den psychischen Bedingungen von Unfällen im Schulsport und u. a. mit der Frage, inwieweit es eine Frage des Klassenklimas ist, ob Unfälle eher verhindert werden können.

Die einzelnen Forschungsprojekte sind in den verschiedenen Arbeitsbereichen des Instituts sowie in übergreifenden Forschungsgruppen angesiedelt. Dort finden sich nähere Informationen zu den laufenden sowie abgeschlossenen Projekten.