About us

History

The movement laboratory OpenLab  was established at the initiative of the Departments of Movement Science, Sport Psychology and Human Performance and Training in Sports. The construction of the lab was financed by the University of Münster and the laboratory equipment was funded proportionally by the German Research Foundation, the State of North Rhine-Westphalia and the Institute of Sport and Exercise Sciences. The OpenLab is located inside the ball sports hall which was built 2009.

Purpose

The OpenLab plays a particular role within the Institute of Sport and Exercise Sciences with regard to the experimental and scientific training and assistance of PhD students, as well as Master's and Bachelor's students. This primarily refers to students of the participating Departments of Movement Science, Human Performance and Training in Sports, Sport Psychology and Social Sciences in Sport. The educational mission of the lab lies within the scientific education, the practical notice of the students with scientific methodologies and modern experimental technologies. Moreover, functional aims involve the promotion of autonomous thinking, the correct handling with computer softwares for the management and evaluation of experiments, as well as independent programming.

From a content perspective the lectureship of the OpenLab consists of different components and can be subdivided into 4 areas:

1. Experimental Projects;

2. Methodical Courses;

3. Presentation & Discussion of Results;

4. Data Recording and Data Processing

Use by External Groups

The manifold research opportunities presented with the OpenLab shall also be available for external user groups. Thereby, interdisciplinary collaborations shall be encouraged and synergetic effects at the University of Münster are generated. The implementation of projects is possible in cooperation with the present working groups but can also be realized by selfmanagement. In that sense, please do not hesitate to contact us.

The OpenLab of the Institute of Sport and Exercise Sciences
© IfS WWU

Über uns

Geschichte

Das Bewegungslabor OpenLab wurde auf Initiative der Arbeitsbereiche Bewegungswissenschaft, Sportpsychologie sowie Leistung und Training eingerichtet. Der Bau wurde durch die Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität finanziert und die Laborausrüstung wurde anteilig durch die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, das Land Nordrhein-Westfalen und das Institut für Sportwissenschaft finanziert. Das OpenLab ist in der 2009 fertig gestellten Ballsporthalle untergebracht.

Aufgabe

Das Bewegungslabor OpenLab hat innerhalb des Instituts für Sportwissenschaft eine besondere Aufgabe in der experimentell-wissenschaftlichen Ausbildung und Unterstützung von Doktoranden, so wie Master- und Bachelorstudenten. Dies betrifft insbesondere Studenten der teilnehmenden Arbeitsbereiche Bewegungswissenschaft, Leistung&Training, Psychologie, Sozialwissenschaft. Die Bildungsmission des Labors liegt in der wissenschaftlichen Bildung, der praktischen Bekanntmachung der Studenten mit wissenschaftlichen Methoden und modernen experimentellen Techniken. Außerdem geht es um die Förderung selbstständigen Denkens, dem Umgang mit Computerprogrammen zur Steuerung und Auswertung von Experimenten, so wie eigenständiges
Programmieren.
Inhaltlich besteht der Lehrauftrag aus unterschiedlichen Komponenten in vier Bereiche:
1. Experimentelle Projekte;
2. Methodische Kurse;
3. Präsentation & Diskussion von Ergebnissen;
4. Datenspeicherung & -Aufbereitung.

Nutzung durch externe Gruppen

Die vielfältigen Forschungsmöglichkeiten im OpenLab sollen auch externen Nutzergruppen zur Verfügung stehen. Dadurch sollen die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit gefördert und Synergieeffekte an der WWU erzeugt werden. Die Durchführung von Projekten ist in Kooperation mit den vorhandenen Arbeitsgruppen oder in Eigenregie möglich. Bitte nehmen Sie dazu gerne Kontakt mit uns auf.

Labor3
Das Bewegungslabor OpenLab des Instituts für Sportwissenschaft
© IfS WWU