Research field B: Controllable nanomaterials

Schematic representation and microscopic image (left open, right closed) of a DNA container
© Seidel (2012)

Coordinator: Jürgen Klingauf, Institute of Medical Physics and Biophysics

Within the research field B functionalization of the materials and structures generated in A are examined regarding their controllablity and responsive behaviour. In natural cells the diversity and complexity of the dynamic processes is mainly based on dynamic non-covalent interactions. Inspired by nature, soft materials shall be generated from non-covalent interacting molecular building blocks, which are capable to react to external stimuli and adopt to changes in the environment. The central objective is to obtain such controllability with regard to well-definded structures and function from non-covalently bound units. Here, comparable with self-assembly, a non-linear behavior of the nanomaterials comes into effect, whereas the direct involvment of theory applying multiscale simulation procedures (ab initio, molecular dynamics, up to coarse-graining and Monte-Carlo models) is of great benefit.

Reference: Seidel 2012



Schematic model of a minimal self-replicating cycle
© A. Dieckmann (2009)

Nikos Doltsinis, Institute of Solid State Theory
Multiscale simulation of self-replicating systems

Rational control of the cell growth: The basic requirement of molecular self-replication - an essential feature of living organisms - is studied be means of synthetic organic self-replicating systems. Therefore, the building blocks of the self-replicators are chosen to be as small as possible to enable an investigation by quantum mechanical calculations and molecular-dynamical simulations. Insights into the rational design of effective replicators are obtained from systematic chemical variation studies.

Relevant preliminary work:

  1. “Elucidating the origin of diastereoselectivity in a self-replicating system: Selfishness vs. altruism.” A. Dieckmann, S. Beniken, C. D. Lorenz, N. L. Doltsinis, G. von Kiedrowski, Chem. Eur. J. 2011, 17, 468-480.
  2. “Unravelling a fulvene based replicator: Experiment and theory in interplay.” A. Dieckmann, S. Beni-ken, C. D. Lorenz, N. L. Doltsinis, G. von Kiedrowski, J. Syst. Chem. 2010, 1, 10.

Reference: A. Dieckmann 2009


Two-dimensional free energy landscape of a cytosine-rich short DNA strand. It is expressed via the first two eigenvectors, resulting from a principal component analysis. Configuration (a) corresponds to the i-motif, (b) and (c) to the hairpin structures and (e) to the fully extended chain.
© WWU / Heuer

Jürgen Klingauf, Institute of Medical Physics and Biophysics

The rational control of the growth of neurons and cells as well as the formation of synaptic contacts on functionalized substrates is a present challenge, which could enable the development of particular cell systems. The results of these experiments deepen the fundamental understanding of synaptic dynamics and plasticity and, in the long term, generate impulses for the development of neuronal interfaces. Chiral surfaces or surfaces modified with proteins and synthetic biocompatible gels control the cell growth for i.a. implants. Within this thematic field, the existing cooperation with the MPI of Molecular Biomedicine and the excellence cluster “Cells in Motion” can be employed. The application of adaptive and responsive materials in the regenerative medicine can be regarded as a long term perspective, whereas it is aimed at a synthetic substitution of the epithelial barrier


Schematic representation of an antibody-modified nanoparticle system for drug targeting application
© Langer, Münster

Klaus Langer, Institute of Pharmaceutical Technology and Biopharmacy
Pharmaceutical technology / Nanostructured dosage forms

The Langer working group is interested in the research field of pharmaceutical / medical nanotechnology, which will be further expanded in the coming years. Nanostructured carrier systems for various drug classes are developed, which actively affect the body distribution of the transported substances in terms of “drug targeting”. As medical application, tumor therapy as well as a diagnostic usage of the systems are in the main focus. For this purpose, on the basis of different starting materials of natural and synthetic origin drug carrier systems are developed, whereas the carrier’s surface properties are optimized regarding a target cell interaction and a prevented accumulation of non-target cells. A particular focus of future work is on the scaling of the preparation methods aiming at preparations, which can be obtained on the pilot-plant scale and thus find access to clinical applications.

Relevant preliminary work:

  1. “Comparative examination of adsorption of serum proteins on HSA- and PLGA-based nanoparticles using SDS-PAGE and LC-MS.” R. Gossmann, E. Fahrländer, M. Hummel, D. Mulac, J. Brockmeyer, K. Langer, Eur. J. Pharm. Biopharm. 2015, 93, 80-87.
  2. “Ligand-modified human serum albumin nanoparticles for targeted gene delivery.” J. Look, N. Wilhelm, H. von Briesen, N. Noske, C. Günther, K. Langer, E. Gorjup, Mol. Pharm. 2015, 12, 3202-3213.
  3. "Nanoparticulate carriers for photodynamic therapy of cholangiocarcinoma: In vitro comparison of various polymer-based nanoparticles.” J. Grünebaum, J. Söbbing, D. Mulac, K. Langer, Int. J. Pharm. 2015, 496, 942-952

Reference: Langer, Münster


Schematic representation of a DNA double helix with metal-mediated base pairs
© J. Müller
The figure shows the network of bacteriochlorophyll a pigments in a monomer of the Fenna-Matthews-Olson complex
© J. Neugebauer

Johannes Neugebauer, Organic Chemistry Institute
Theoretical Methods for Excited States and Photochemistry in Complex Environments

The research of the Neugebauer group focuses on the development of quantum mechanical methods for electronically excited states of complex chemical systems, which are out of reach for conventional electronic structure methods. These include i.a. chromophores in protein complexes, as inclusion compounds, in solution or immobilized on surfaces. These methods are applied to investigate the properties of light-responsive organic materials on increasingly realistic models. In terms of method development, the group aims at providing efficient quantum chemical methods for photochemical investigations in (bio-)macromolecules. These can be used to investigate photochemical reaction pathways and thus, contributing to a better understanding of the light control mechanism of DNA or protein binding on vesicles.

Relevant preliminary work:

  1. “Including Protein Density Relaxation Effects in First-Principles Embedding Calculations of Cofactor Excitation Energies.” A. Goez, J. Neugebauer, Mol. Phys. 2016, in press, DOI: 10.1080/00268976.2016.1199823.
  2. “Analytical Gradients for Excitation Energies from Frozen-Density Embedding.” A. Kovyrshin, J. Neugebauer, Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys. 2016, 18, 20955-20975.
  3. “State-Specific Embedding Potentials for Excitation-Energy Calculations.” C. Daday, C. König, O. Valsson, J. Neugebauer, C. Filippi, , J. Chem. Theory Comput. 2013, 9, 2355-2367

Reference: 1.


Schematic representation of the light induced formation and dissolution of ternary vesicle complexes consisting of cyclodextrins, azobenzene spermine conjugates and DNA. The accumulation of target-specific ligands with light-responsive conjugates at the vesicle surface could yield a diverse transportation system for binding and releasing DNA, RNA and thus being applicable for gene therapy

Bart Jan Ravoo, Organic Chemistry Institute
Synthetic vesicles

The general objective of our research is applying molecules as building blocks for the construction of soft materials and nanoscale structures by means of self-assembly. The formation of complex and dynamic superstructures based on various small molecules results in chemical systems featuring new properties that go beyond the actual sum of the single components. Our group works on two main topics: Biomimetic supramolecular chemistry and surface modifications via molecular self-assembly.
In the field of biomimetic supramolecular chemistry we investigate the self-assembly of molecules and colloids in aqueous solution. We employ non-covalent interactions to generate larger structures from molecular building blocks. Multiple weak interactions result in a strong and selective multivalent interaction. One main research topic involves receptor molecules incorporated vesicles, such as cyclodextrins. The multivalent recognition of guest molecules on the vesicle surface, and the according interaction among the vesicles, serve as biomimetic model system for the biological cell-cell recognition and innovative container for drugs. A further research topic is based in the development of synthetic carbohydrate receptors. Applying a dynamic-combinatorial approach oligomers and macrocyclic carbohydrate receptors are formed from peptidic building blocks. These receptors are capable to effectively and selectively bind carbohydrates both in water and on membrane surfaces. In the area of surface modifications by self-assembly, we investigate the preparation and the resulting properties of molecular monolayers on solid substrates. We combine bottom-up self-assembly with top-down lithography, for example to structure surfaces by microcontact printing with reactive molecular inks. Microcontact printing is applied to prepare chemical and biological surface templates including protein, nucleotide and carbohydrate based chips. In the long-term we aim at the synthesis of adaptive surfaces.

Reference: “Light-Responsive Capture and Release of DNA in a Ternary Supramolecular Complex.” S. K. M. Nalluri, J. Voskuhl, J. B. Bultema, E. J. Boekema, B. J. Ravoo, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2011, 50, 9747-9751; Angew. Chem. 2011, 123, 9921-9925.


Cell moving to an inflammatory stimulus. Cytoskeletal proteins polarize during migration (actin red, tubulin green, nucleus blue)
© Marc Wolf, Johannes Roth, WWU Münster

Johannes Roth, Institute of Immunology:
Target-orientated immunomodulation of specific leucocyte populations by immune functional nanoparticles

The treatment of chronic inflammatory diseases, such as rheumatoid arthritis, allergies, autoimmune diseases or inflammatory bowel diseases, is still challenging due to serious side effects. It is becoming increasingly clear, that specific subpopulations of leucocytes play a significant role for diverse functions in the beginning but also in the termination of inflammatory reactions. Developing new immunosuppressive pharmaceuticals usually takes decades. Alternatively, a precise addressability of defined leucocyte populations via specific molecular target structures even applying common drugs would allow a more effective treatment with less side effects. Our working group provides a high expertise to identify clinically relevant target structures on defined leucocyte populations. In cooperation with research partners of the SoN and using different nanoparticle based technologies new methods are established, which allow a selective application of substances for therapeutic or diagnostic purposes in molecular defined leukocytes. In this context, our expertise can be utilized to verify the biocompatibility of newly developed, bioactive nanoparticles in leucocytes in vitro, and the efficiency of numerous, clinically relevant inflammatory animal models in vivo.

Relevant preliminary work:

  1. ”MRP8 and MRP14 are novel endogenous activators of toll-like receptor 4 promoting lethal endotoxin-induced shock.” T. Vogl, K. Tenbrock, S. Ludwig, N. Leukert, C. Ehrhardt, M. A. D. van Zoelen, W. Nacken, D. Foell, T. van der Poll, C. Sorg, J. Roth, Nat. Med. 2007, 13, 1042-1049.
  2. “Glucocorticoids promote survival of anti-inflammatory macrophages via stimulation of adenosine receptor A3.” K. Barczyk, J. M. Ehrchen, K. Tenbrock, M. Ahlmann, J. Kneidl, D. Viemann, J. Roth, Blood 2010, 116, 446-455.
  3. “Alarmin S100A8/S100A9 as a biomarker of local inflammatory activity.” T. Vogl, M. Eisenblätter, T. Völler, S. Zenker, S. Hermann, P. van Lent, A. Faust, C. Geyer, B. Petersen, K. Roebrock, M. Schäfers, C. Bremer, J. Roth, Nat. Commun. 2014, 5, 4593.

Reference: Wolf, Johannes Roth, Institute of Immunology, WWU Münster


Secondary electron microscopic image of freeze-dried hollow polyelectrolyte capsules.
© M. Schöndorf

Monika Schönhoff, Institute of Physical Chemistry:
Nanocontainer for drug encapsulation

Smallest particles with sizes around 100 nm are capable to penetrate into cells and to selectively transport drugs. Exemplarily, in the inside of polymeric hollow capsules composed of polyions a diversity of small molecules can be encapsulated. Fundamental investigations regarding the incorporation, dynamics and transportation of such guest molecules using dynamic NMR methods are performed. Applying a method, which was particularly promoted from the Schönhoff group, and based on diffusion experiments, the localization of the probe molecules inside the particle, as well as the permeation through the capsule wall is determined. Both drug molecules and appropriate model substances, which are relevant with regard to the development of colloidal carrier systems, are studied. Furthermore, switchable particles are developed featuring a controlled release upon external trigger, such as temperature or pH.

Relevant preliminary work:

  1. “Polyelectrolyte multilayer capsules: Nanostructure and visualisation of nanopores in the wall.” V. Krzyzanek, N. Sporenberg, U. Keller, J. Guddorf, R. Reichelt, M. Schönhoff, Soft Matter 2011, 7, 7034- 7041.
  2. “pH-triggered Polyelectrolyte Release from Surface Modified Poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid) (PLGA) Nanoparticles.” M. Häuser, K. Langer, M. Schönhoff, Beilstein J. Nanotechnol. 2015, 6, 2504-2512.

Reference: 1.


Representation of the yeast plasma membrane with different domains indicated in color. Left and center are artistic illustrations of domains, right shows two network forming domains for proteins labeled with RFP and GFP, respectively
© R. Wedlich-Söldner

Forschungsfeld B: Steuerbare Nanomaterialien

Schematische Darstellung und mikroskopischen Aufnahme (links geschlossen, rechts geöffnet) eines DNA-Containers
© Seidel (2012)

Koordinator: Jürgen Klingauf, Institut für Medizinische Physik und Biophysik

Im Forschungsfeld B wird die Funktionalisierung der Materialien und Strukturen aus A in Richtung Steuerbarkeit und responsives Verhalten untersucht. In natürlichen Zellen beruht die Vielfalt und Komplexität der dynamischen Prozesse überwiegend auf dynamischen nicht-kovalenten Wechselwirkungen. Dieses Prinzip gilt es der Natur abzuschauen, um aus nicht-kovalent miteinander wechselwirkenden molekularen Bausteinen weiche Nanomaterialien zu generieren, die auf externe Reize reagieren und sich an Änderungen ihrer Umgebung anpassen können. Zentrales Ziel ist es also, durch nicht-kovalent gebundene Einheiten eine solche Steuerbarkeit in wohldefinierten Strukturen oder Funktionen zu erhalten. Hier kommt, wie bei der Selbstorganisation, ein nichtlineares Verhalten der Nanomaterialien zum Tragen, wobei die unmittelbare Einbeziehung der Theorie unter Einsatz von multiskaligen Simulationsverfahren (ab initio, Molekulardynamik, bis hin zu Coarse Graining und Monte Carlo Modellen) von großem Nutzen ist.

Quelle: Seidel 2012



Schematisches Modell eines minimalen Selbstreplikationszyklus
© A. Dieckmann (2009)

Nikos Doltsinis, Institut für Festkörpertheorie:
Multiskalen-Simulation selbstreplizierender Systeme

Rationale Kontrolle von Zellwachstum: Die Grundvoraussetzungen der molekularen Selbstreplikation - ein wesentliches Merkmal von lebenden Organismen - soll anhand künstlicher organischer selbstreplizierender Systeme untersucht werden. Hierbei werden die Bausteine der Selbstreplikatoren möglichst klein gewählt, um sie durch quantenchemische Rechnungen und Molekulardynamik-Simulationen erschließen zu können. Durch systematische chemische Variation sollen Erkenntnisse für das rationale Design effizienter Replikatoren gewonnen werden.

Relevante Vorarbeiten:

  1. “Elucidating the origin of diastereoselectivity in a self-replicating system: Selfishness vs. altruism.” A. Dieckmann, S. Beniken, C. D. Lorenz, N. L. Doltsinis, G. von Kiedrowski, Chem. Eur. J. 2011, 17, 468-480.
  2. “Unravelling a fulvene based replicator: Experiment and theory in interplay.” A. Dieckmann, S. Beni-ken, C. D. Lorenz, N. L. Doltsinis, G. von Kiedrowski, J. Syst. Chem. 2010, 1, 10.

Quelle: A. Dieckmann 2009


Zweidimensionale freie Energielandschaft von einem Cytosin-reichen DNA-Strang. Die Landschaft wird ausgedrückt durch die ersten beiden Eigenvektoren, die sich aus einer Hauptkomponentenanalyse ergeben. Konfiguration (a) entspricht dem i-Motiv, (b) und (c) zwei Haarnadelstrukturen und (e) der ausgedehnten Kette.
© WWU / Heuer

Andreas Heuer, Institut für Physikalische Chemie:
Molekulardynamik- und Monte-Carlo-Simulationen weicher Nanomaterialien: Vom Verständnis der freien Energielandschaft zu Hysterese-Effekten

Im Themenbereich der steuerbaren Nanomaterialien sollen für verschiedene experimentell relevante Systeme Molekulardynamik-Simulationen zur Bestimmung der Freien Energielandschaft in Abhängigkeit von äußeren Parametern wie pH-Wert und elektrochemisches Potential  durchgeführt werden. Unser Arbeitskreis hat dazu aktuell Algorithmen weiterentwickelt, zum Beispiel im Bereich der Metadynamik, die auch die Untersuchung komplexer molekularer Systeme erlauben. Weiterhin soll grundsätzlich an geeigneten Modellsystemen überprüft werden, inwieweit eventuelle Hysterese-Effekte, die zum Beispiel bei der Variation externer Parameter auftreten können, sich in den Eigenschaften der Freien Energielandschaften widerspiegeln. Dafür ist es nötig, zum einen geeignete Reaktionskoordinaten als Basis der Freien Energielandschaft zu identifizieren, und zum anderen in den dazu orthogonalen Koordinaten zusätzlich nach versteckter Komplexität zu suchen. Ggf. sollen auf noch größeren Skalen für Gittermodelle Monte-Carlo-Simulationen durchgeführt werden, um zum Beispiel an Gelen den Einfluss und die Reversibilität äußerer Störungen zu untersuchen.

Relevante Vorarbeiten:

  1. “Calculation of free energy landscapes: A Histogram Reweighted Metadynamics approach.” J. Smiatek, A. Heuer, J. Comput. Chem. 2011, 32, 2084-2096.
  2. “Systematic detection of hidden complexities in the unfolding mechanism of a cytosine-rich DNA strand.” J. Smiatek, D. Janssen-Mueller, R. Friedrich, A. Heuer, Physica A 2014, 394, 136-144.
  3. “Anomalous approach to thermodynamic equilibrium: structure formation of molecules after vapor deposition.” P. K. Jana, C. Wang, R. L. Jack, L. Chi, A. Heuer, Phys. Rev. E 2015, 92, 052402.

Quelle: “Stable Conformations of a Single Stranded Deprotonated DNA i-Motif.” J. Smiatek, C. Chen, D. Liu, A. Heuer, J. Phys. Chem. B 2011, 115, 13788-13795.


Jürgen Klingauf, Institut für Medizinische Physik und Biophysik

Die rationale Kontrolle des Wachstums von Neuronen und Zellen sowie der Ausbildung von synaptischen Kontakten auf funktionalisierten Substraten stellt eine Herausforderung dar, die eine besondere Entwicklung von Zellsystemen ermöglichen kann. Die Ergebnisse dieser Experimente werden das grundlegende Verständnis synaptischer Dynamik und Plastizität vertiefen und langfristig Impulse für die Entwicklung neuronaler Schnittstellen geben. Chirale oder durch Proteine modifizierte Oberflächen und synthetisierte biokompatible Gele werden das Zellwachstum u.a. für Implantate steuern. In diesem Themenfeld setzen auch die existierenden Kooperationen mit dem MPI für molekulare Biomedizin und im Rahmen des Exzellenzclusterantrags „Cells in Motion“ an. Als langfristige Perspektive kann der Einsatz adaptiver und responsiver Materialien in der regenerativen Medizin gesehen werden, wo ein synthetischer Ersatz der Epithelbarriere angestrebt wird.


Schematische Darstellung eines Antikörper-modifizierten Nanopartikelsystems zur „Drug Targeting“-Anwendung
© Langer, Münster

Klaus Langer, Institut für Pharmazeutische Technologie und Biopharmazie:
Pharmazeutische Technologie / Nanostrukturierte Arzneiformen

Die Arbeitsgruppe Langer beschäftigt sich mit dem Forschungsbereich Pharmazeutische / Medizinische Nanotechnologie und wird diesen in den kommenden Jahren weiter ausbauen. Nanostrukturierte Trägersysteme für unterschiedliche Arzneistoffklassen sollen entwickelt werden, die im Sinne eines „Drug Targetings” die Körperverteilung der transportierten Substanzen aktiv beeinflussen. Als medizinische Anwendung stehen die Tumortherapie sowie ein diagnostischer Einsatz der Systeme im Mittelpunkt. Auf Basis unterschiedlicher Ausgangsmaterialien natürlichen und synthetischen Ursprungs werden hierzu Arzneistoffträger entwickelt, deren Oberflächeneigenschaften auf eine Interaktion mit Zielzellen hin optimiert sind und eine Anreicherung in Nicht-Zielzellen verhindern. Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt der zukünftigen Arbeiten liegt in einer Skalierung der Herstellungsmethoden, um Präparationen zu erhalten, die im Technikumsmaßstab hergestellt werden und somit einen Eingang in die klinische Anwendung finden können

Relevante Vorarbeiten:

  1. “Comparative examination of adsorption of serum proteins on HSA- and PLGA-based nanoparticles using SDS-PAGE and LC-MS.” R. Gossmann, E. Fahrländer, M. Hummel, D. Mulac, J. Brockmeyer, K. Langer, Eur. J. Pharm. Biopharm. 2015, 93, 80-87.
  2. “Ligand-modified human serum albumin nanoparticles for targeted gene delivery.” J. Look, N. Wilhelm, H. von Briesen, N. Noske, C. Günther, K. Langer, E. Gorjup, Mol. Pharm. 2015, 12, 3202-3213.
  3. "Nanoparticulate carriers for photodynamic therapy of cholangiocarcinoma: In vitro comparison of various polymer-based nanoparticles.” J. Grünebaum, J. Söbbing, D. Mulac, K. Langer, Int. J. Pharm. 2015, 496, 942-952

Quelle: Langer, Münster


Schematische Darstellung einer DNA-Doppelhelix mit metallvermittelten Basenpaaren
© J. Müller
Die Abbildung zeigt das Netzwerk aus Bacteriochlorophyll-a-Pigmenten in einem Monomer des Fenna-Matthews-Olson-Komplexes
© J. Neugebauer

Johannes Neugebauer, Organisch-Chemisches Institut
Theoretische Methoden für angeregte Zustände und Photochemie in komplexen Umgebungen

Ein Forschungsschwerpunkt des Arbeitskreises Neugebauer ist die Entwicklung quantenchemischer Methoden für elektronisch angeregte Zustände komplexer chemischer Systeme, die außerhalb der Reichweite konventioneller Elektronenstrukturverfahren liegen. Dazu gehören u.A. Chromophore in Proteinkomplexen, Einschlussverbindungen, in Lösung oder an Oberflächen. Diese Methoden sollen genutzt werden, um die Eigenschaften lichtsteuerbarer organischer Materialien an zunehmend realistischeren Modellen zu untersuchen. Ein methodisches Arbeitsgebiet ist die Entwicklung effizienter quantenchemischer Verfahren für photochemische Untersuchungen in (Bio-)Makromolekülen, die für die Untersuchung von photochemischen Reaktionswegen eingesetzt werden können und so zu einem besseren Verständnis des Mechanismus der Lichtsteuerung von DNA- bzw. Proteinbindung an Vesikel beitragen können.

Relevante Vorarbeiten:

  1. “Including Protein Density Relaxation Effects in First-Principles Embedding Calculations of Cofactor Excitation Energies.” A. Goez, J. Neugebauer, Mol. Phys. 2016, in press, DOI: 10.1080/00268976.2016.1199823.
  2. “Analytical Gradients for Excitation Energies from Frozen-Density Embedding.” A. Kovyrshin, J. Neugebauer, Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys. 2016, 18, 20955-20975.
  3. “State-Specific Embedding Potentials for Excitation-Energy Calculations.” C. Daday, C. König, O. Valsson, J. Neugebauer, C. Filippi, , J. Chem. Theory Comput. 2013, 9, 2355-2367

Quelle: 1.


Schematische Darstellung der lichtgesteuerten Bildung und Auflösung eines ternären Komplexes aus Vesikeln bestehend aus Cyclodextrinen, Azobenzol-Spermin-Konjugat und DNA. Die Anlagerung zielspezifischer Liganden zusammen mit lichtresponsiven Konjugaten auf der Vesikeloberfläche könnte zu einem vielseitigen Transportersystem für die Bindung und Freisetzung von DNA und RNA, und somit zum Einsatz in der Gentherapie führen

Bart Jan Ravoo, Organisch-Chemisches Institut
Synthetische Vesikel

Allgemeines Ziel unserer Forschung ist der Einsatz von Molekülen als Bausteine für den Aufbau weicher Materialien und nanoskaliger Strukturen mittels Selbstorganisation. Der Aufbau komplexer und dynamischer Überstrukturen aus vielen kleinen Molekülen führt zu chemischen Systemen mit neuen Eigenschaften die über die einfache Summe der Komponenten hinausgehen. Unsere Gruppe forscht an zwei Hauptthemen: die biomimetische supramolekulare Chemie und die Oberflächenmodifikation mittels molekularer Selbstorganisation.

Im Bereich der biomimetischen supramolekularen Chemie untersuchen wir die Selbstorganisation von Molekülen und Kolloiden in wässriger Lösung. Wir benutzen nicht-kovalente Wechselwirkungen für den Aufbau größerer Strukturen aus molekularen Bausteinen. Mehrere schwache Wechselwirkungen führen zu starken und selektiven multivalenten Wechselwirkungen. Ein Hauptforschungsthema betrifft Vesikel mit eingebauten Rezeptormolekülen, z.B. Cyclodextrinen. Die multivalente Erkennung von Gastmolekülen an der Vesikeloberfläche, und die entsprechende Wechselwirkung zwischen Vesikeln, stellen ein biomimetisches Modelsystem für die biologische Zell-Zell Erkennung dar und führen zu innovativen Containern für Wirkstoffe. Ein weiteres Forschungsthema ist die Entwicklung synthetischer Kohlenhydratrezeptoren. Hier werden über einen dynamisch-kombinatorischen Ansatz aus Peptidbausteinen oligomere und makrozyklische Kohlenhydratrezeptoren aufgebaut. Diese Rezeptoren binden sowohl in Wasser als auch an Membranoberflächen effektiv und selektiv an Kohlenhydrate. Im Bereich der Oberflächenmodifizierung durch molekulare Selbstorganisation untersuchen wir die Herstellung und Eigenschaften molekularer Monoschichten auf festen Substraten. Wir kombinieren „bottom-up“ Selbstorganisation mit „top-down“ Lithographie, z.B. in der Oberflächenstrukturierung durch Mikrokontaktdruck mit reaktiven molekularen Tinten. Mikrokontaktdruck wird eingesetzt für die Synthese chemischer und biologischer Oberflächentemplate, inkl. Protein, Nukleotid und Kohlenhydratchips. Langfristig erzielen wir hier die Synthese von adaptiven Oberflächen.

Quelle: “Light-Responsive Capture and Release of DNA in a Ternary Supramolecular Complex.” S. K. M. Nalluri, J. Voskuhl, J. B. Bultema, E. J. Boekema, B. J. Ravoo, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2011, 50, 9747-9751; Angew. Chem. 2011, 123, 9921-9925.


Eine Zelle migriert auf einen entzündlichen Stimulus zu. Das zelluläre Zytoskelett polarisiert sich während der Bewegung (Aktin rot, Tubulin grün, Zellkern blau)
© Marc Wolf, Johannes Roth, WWU Münster
Sekundärelektronenmikroskopische Aufnahme gefriergetrockneter von Polyelektrolyt-Hohlkapseln
© M. Schöndorf

Monika Schönhoff, Institut für Physikalische Chemie:
Nanocontainer für Wirkstoffe

Kleinste Partikel mit Größen um 100 nm sind in der Lage in Zellen einzudringen und Wirkstoffe gezielt zu transportieren. Beispielsweise können in polymeren Hohlkapseln aus Polyionen verschiedene kleine Moleküle enkapsuliert werden. Grundlegende Untersuchungen von Einbau, Dynamik und Transport solcher Gastmoleküle werden mit Hilfe dynamischer NMR-Methoden durchgeführt. Mit einer speziell in der Gruppe Schönhoff vorangetriebenen Methode wird durch Diffusionsmessungen die Lokalisierung dieser Sondenmoleküle im Partikel, sowie die Zeitskala ihrer Permeation durch Hohlpartikelwände bestimmt. Dabei handelt es sich einerseits um Wirkstoff¬moleküle, andererseits um geeignete Modellsubstanzen, die im Hinblick auf die Entwicklung kolloidaler Wirkstoffträger relevant sind. Weiterhin werden schaltbare Partikel entwickelt, die eine gezielte Freisetzung durch externe Trigger, wie Temperatur oder pH, zeigen.

Relevante Vorarbeiten:

  1. “Polyelectrolyte multilayer capsules: Nanostructure and visualisation of nanopores in the wall.” V. Krzyzanek, N. Sporenberg, U. Keller, J. Guddorf, R. Reichelt, M. Schönhoff, Soft Matter 2011, 7, 7034- 7041.
  2. “pH-triggered Polyelectrolyte Release from Surface Modified Poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid) (PLGA) Nanoparticles.” M. Häuser, K. Langer, M. Schönhoff, Beilstein J. Nanotechnol. 2015, 6, 2504-2512.

Quelle: 1.


Darstellung verschiedener Domänen in der Hefeplasmamembran. Links und mittig sind künstlerisch gestaltete Beispiele für den identifizierten Flickenteppich (Farben zeigen unterschiedliche Domänen an). Rechts sind zwei netzwerkartige Domänen von Proteinen zu sehen, die mit RFP und GFP markiert wurden
© R. Wedlich-Söldner

Roland Wedlich-Söldner, Institut für Zelldynamik und Bildgebung
Selbstorganisation von Membrandomänen

Biologische Membranen bilden selektive Barrieren zwischen zellulären Kompartimenten. Insbesondere die Plasmamembran (PM) spielt als Knotenpunkt der Signalverarbeitung eine wesentliche Rolle bei der Zellphysiologie. Störungen der PM Organisation tragen zudem zur Entstehung von zahlreichen Krankheiten bei. Ein detailliertes Verständnis der Mechanismen, die für die Membranorganisation verantwortlich sind, ist daher von grundlegender Bedeutung. Es ist weitgehend anerkannt, dass zahlreiche Membrankomponenten in spezifischen Domänen organisiert sind. Die zugrundeliegenden Mechanismen hingegen werden nach wie vor kontrovers diskutiert. Mittels einer Kombination von Total Internal Fluorenscence Microscopy (TIRFM) und Dekonvolution konnten wir zeigen, dass sich alle Proteine der Hefe-PM in definierten lateralen Domänen organisieren und dass diese eine ungewöhnlich langsame Diffusion aufweisen. Zudem stellten wir fest, dass PM-Proteine mit ähnlichen Transmembran-(TM)-domänen co-segregieren und dass die Domänenmuster maßgeblich durch die zelluläre Lipidzusammensetzung beeinflusst wird. Unsere Ergebnisse deuten darauf hin, dass sich Hefe-PM zu einem Flickenteppich von überlappenden Proteindomänen selbstorganisiert, der aus dem Zusammenspiel der schwachen Wechselwirkungen zwischen den für biologische Membranen typischen vielfältigen Lipid- und Proteinbestandteilen resultiert.

Anhand einer Kombination aus experimentellen und theoretischen Ansätzen wollen wir nun untersuchen, ob ein spezieller „Transmembrancode“ für die laterale Verteilung der PM Proteine verantwortlich ist. Zu diesem Zweck planen wir Verteilungsmuster von GFP-Fusionen mit verschiedenen endogenen, mutierten, chimären oder synthetischen TM-Sequenzen mittels TIRFM zu untersuchen. Wir wollen zudem die Proteinmobilität anhand von Fluoreszence Recovery After Photobleaching (FRAP) und Autokorrelationsanalysen bestimmen. Zudem werden wir die Lipidzusammensetzung von Zellen mittels gezielter genetischer Modifikationen und Wirkstoffbehandlungen verändern. Zur verbesserten Auflösung der Domänenmuster werden wir die Structured Illumination Microscopy (SIM) sowie stochastischer Lokalisationsmikroskopietechniken, wie PALM und STORM, anwenden. Für letzteres haben wir bereits chemische Markierungsstrategien für Hefezellen (Halo oder ACP/MCP) entwickelt, die es uns erlauben chemische Fluorophore zu verwenden, die sich durch eine überlegene Photostabilität und Kinetik auszeichnen.

Relevante Vorarbeiten:

  1. "Building a patchwork - The yeast plasma membrane as model to study lateral domain formation.” C. Schuberth, R. Wedlich-Söldner, Biochim. Biophys. Acta 2015, 1853, 767-74.
  2. “Visualization of cortex organization and dynamics in microorganisms, using total internal reflection fluorescence microscopy.” F. Spira, J. Dominguez-Escobar, N. Muller, R. Wedlich-Söldner, J. Vis. Exp. 2012, 63, e3982.
  3. “Patchwork organization of the yeast plasma membrane into numerous coexisting domains.” F. Spira, N. S. Mueller, G. Beck, P. von Olshausen, J. Beig, R. Wedlich-Söldner, Nat. Cell Biol. 2012, 14, 640-648

Quelle: 3. and R. Wedlich-Söldner