The Physics Department at the University of Münster invites applications for an

Assistant Professorship (W1)
in Theoretical Physics - Elementary Particle Theory

with a teaching duty of 4 hours per week. The preferred starting date is October 1, 2011. The initial term of appointment is three years. Subsequent to a positive intermediate evaluation, it can be renewed for another three years. A positive final evaluation may lead to a tenured position.

The successful candidate is expected to represent the field of Theoretical Physics in research and teaching. His/her main research focus should be elementary particle phenomenology, in particular the physics beyond the Standard Model. Further research experience in the field of perturbative QCD and/or theoretical astroparticle physics is an advantage. Close collaboration with the other theoretical and experimental research groups active in particle physics is required. Participation in the teaching activities in theoretical physics is expected at all levels, i.e. within the B.Sc., M.Sc. and teacher training programs. Further duties include the participation in academic self-government and the advancement of the B.Sc. and M.Sc. programs as well as of the graduate school.

Prerequisites for the appointment are a Ph.D. degree in theoretical physics, pedagogical ability and further scientific, post-doctoral achievements accomplished at a public university or research institute.

Women are explicitly encouraged to apply and will be favored in case of equal ability and professional performance, unless this rule is outweighed by the personality of a competitor.

Seriously disabled persons will be favored in case of equal qualification.

Applications with the usual documents (curriculum vitae, list of publications, description of research and teaching experience, research plan, diplomas) should be sent before April 30, 2011 to:

Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität
Dekan des Fachbereichs 11 (Physik)
Herrn Prof. Dr. Tilmann Kuhn
Wilhelm-Klemm-Str 9
D-48149 Münster




Impressum | © 2010 Universität Münster
Universität Münster
Schlossplatz 2 · 48149 Münster
Tel.: +49 251 83-0 · Fax: +49 251 83-32090