Focus Areas in the M.Sc. in Psychology

Cognitive Neuroscience

At the center of the M.Sc. focus area 'Cognitive Neuroscience'  is the brain's structure and function as a carrier of the cognitive processes of human experience and behavior. The enormous upswing of neuroscientific studies in psychology and the increased networking between the research fields of pyschology, computer science, biology, physics and medicine has led in recent decades to a reorientation of our understanding of cognitive and affective processes and contributed strongly to the early detection of diseases and to optimizing the treatment process. Neuroscience research methods such as EEG (electroencephalography), MEG (magnetoencephalography), functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI) and computational modeling contribute to a better understanding of the complex relationships that allow for thinking, feeling, seeing, speaking, tasting, smelling, dreaming, moving, remembering, recognizing and  consciousness. Each of these methods and findings are taught in the research focus area, Cognitive Neuroscience.

Contents and Organisation

The working groups involved in the study area, Cognitive Neuroscience, research topics such as:

  • Action control and action recognition,
  • visual perception,
  • dynamic representation of space and spatial orientation,
  • cognitive and neural mechanisms of social interaction,
  • motor skill acquisition,
  • expection formation and astonishment,
  • memory,
  • language understanding and speech production,
  • second language acquisition and developmental language disorders,
  • processing of emotional stimuli.

These issues are to be  researched mainly with EEG, eye-tracking, reaction time experiments, fMRI, TMS, and computationeller modeling. We cooperate with the Institute for Biomagnetism and Biosignal Analysis for MEG studies and with the University Hospital in the investigation of patients and fMRI studies.

The knowledge and skill sets that are required to perform research on the above mentioned topics, as well as for interpreting competently and critically, will primarily be taught in seminars and through practical activities. Specific knowledge of methods will be thematically developed in seminars, lectures, and practical exercises. Theses and Internships can be carried out in the participating departments or from one of several partners in Münster, Germany or abroad.

The study offers of the focus area, Cognitive Neurowissenschaft, are complemented by events in the fields of diagnostics, methodology and an import module of your choosing. This flexibility allows students to meet the requirements for subsequent psychotherapy training. The courses and events in the focus area are realised through the work units of Prof. Dr. Busch, Prof. Dr. Lappe andProf. Dr. Schubotz.

Research - Practice - Career Perspectives

The programme is primarily research-oriented and prepares for subsequent postgraduate work in a doctoral study programme and/or for a career in a research-related field of work. The competence profile of graduates of the programme involves a large potential for application in occupational fields, where information processing, aspects of human action, and decision-making are to be taken under consideration. Here we regard questions concerning the human-machine interaction, the user adaptively of computers, the cognitive aspects of ergonomics in relation to complex decision-making and other mechanisms of control, and similar areas that may be summarized under “human engineering”. In addition, graduates have professional opportunities within the field of data processing open to them, for example, in computer linguistics, guidance through the use of language, machine-based vision systems or robotics. Besides this, the focus program opens up paths to scientific journalistic activities.

The neuroscientific basis of the programme enables students to take up occupations in the area of clinical psychology. The graduates of this focus area are especially qualified for consecutive postgraduate studies in clinical neuropsychology, which can either be acquired separately or parallel to the postgraduate training towards becoming a licensed psychological psychotherapist.

Schwerpunkte im M.Sc. Psychologie

Kognitive Neurowissenschaft

Im Zentrum des M. Sc. Schwerpunkts Kognitive Neurowissenschaften steht das Gehirn in seiner Struktur und Funktion als Träger der kognitiven Prozesse des Erlebens und Verhaltens des Menschen. Der enorme Aufschwung neurowissenschaftlicher Untersuchungen in der Psychologie und die zunehmende Vernetzung zwischen Forschungsgebieten der Psychologie, Informatik, Biologie, Physik und Medizin hat in den letzten Jahrzehnten zu einer Neuorientierung des Verständnisses kognitiver und affektiver Prozesse geführt und stark zur Früherkennung von Erkrankungen und der Optimierung von Therapieverfahren beigetragen. Neurowissenschaftliche Untersuchungsmethoden wie EEG (Elektroenzephalographie), MEG (Magnetenzephalographie), funktionelle Kernspintomographie (fMRT) und computationale Modellierung tragen zu einem besseren Verständnis der komplexen Zusammenhänge bei, die Denken, Fühlen, Sehen, Sprechen, Schmecken, Riechen, Träumen, Bewegen, Erinnern, Erkennen, Bewusstsein ermöglichen. Diese Methoden und Erkenntnisse werden im Schwerpunkt Kognitive Neurowissenschaften vermittelt.

Inhalte und Organization

Die im Schwerpunkt Kognitive Neurowissenschaften beteiligten Arbeitseinheiten forschen zu Themen wie

  • Handlungsteuerung und Handlungserkennung,
  • visueller Wahrnehmung,
  • dynamischer Repräsentation von Raum und räumliche Orientierung,

  • kognitive und neuronale Mechanismen sozialer Interaktion,
  • motorisches Lernen,
  • Erwartungsbildung und Überraschung,
  • Gedächtnis,

  • Sprachverständnis und Sprachproduktion,
  • Zweitspracherwerb und Sprachentwicklungsstörungen,
  • Verarbeitung emotionaler Reize.

Diese Fragestellungen werden im Wesentlichen mit EEG, Eye-Tracking, Reaktionszeit-Experimenten, fMRT, TMS und computationeller Modellierung untersucht. Wir kooperieren mit dem Institut für Biosignalanalyse und Biomagnetismus bei MEG-Untersuchungen und mit dem Universitätsklinikum bei der Untersuchung von Patienten bzw. fMRT-Untersuchungen.

Hauptsächlich in Seminaren und praktisch ausgerichteten Veranstaltungen werden die Kenntnisse und Fertigkeiten vermittelt, die man benötigt, um Untersuchungen zu den oben genannten Themen selbst durchzuführen sowie kompetent und kritisch zu interpretieren. Spezifische Methodenkenntnisse werden themenbezogen in Seminaren, Vorlesungen, und praktischen Übungen erarbeitet. Abschlussarbeiten und Praktika können in beteiligten Arbeitseinheiten oder bei einem der zahlreichen Kooperationspartner in Münster, dem In- oder Ausland durchgeführt werden.

Das Angebot des Schwerpunkts Kognitive Neurowissenschaften wird durch Veranstaltungen aus den Bereichen Diagnostik, Methodenlehre sowie einen frei wählbaren Importmodul ergänzt. Diese Flexibilität erlaubt es, die Voraussetzungen für eine nachfolgende Psychotherapierausbildung zu erfüllen. Die Veranstaltungen im Schwerpunkt werden durch die Arbeitseinheit von Prof. Dr. Busch, Prof. Dr. Lappe und  Prof. Dr. Schubotz realisiert.

Forschung - Praxis - berufliche Perspektiven

Das Schwerpunktprogramm ist primär forschungsorientiert und bereitet auf ein anschließendes Promotionsprogramm und/oder auf forschungsbezogene Berufstätigkeiten vor. Die erworbenen Kompetenzen befähigen Absolventen in Berufsfeldern, in denen informationsverarbeitende Aspekte menschlichen Handels und Entscheidens betrachtet werden, zu arbeiten. Dies sind z. B. Fragen der Mensch-Maschine Interaktion, der Nutzeradaptativität von Hard- und Software, kognitive Aspekte der Ergonomie in Bezug auf komplexe Entscheidungen und Handlungskontrolle und ähnliche Anwendungen, die unter "Human Engineering" zusammengefasst werden können. Daneben stehen den Absolventen Anwendungsgebiete in der Informationsverarbeitung, z.B. in der Computerlinguistik, der Steuerung mittels Sprache, dem Maschinensehen oder der Robotik offen. Zudem stehen den Absolventen Anwendungsgebiete in der Informationsverarbeitung, z.B. in der Computerlinguistik, der Steuerung mittels Sprache, dem Maschinensehen oder der Robotik offen. Daneben eröffnet das Schwerpunktprogramm Wege in wissenschaftsjournalistische Tätigkeitsbereiche.

Der neurowissenschaftliche Hintergrund der Ausbildung befähigt zu Tätigkeiten im Bereich der klinischen Neuropsychologie. Insbesondere sind Studierenden dieses Schwerpunkts für eine Weiterbildung zum klinischen Neuropsychologen im Anschluss an das Studium qualifiziert, die allein oder parallel zu einer Ausbildung als psychologischer Psychotherapeut erworben werden kann.