Institute of Applied Physics

Nonlinear Systems and Patternformation - Magnetism - Material Science - Applied Physics

Nonlinear Systems and Pattern Formation - Magnetism - Material Science - Applied Physics

Search deutsch  Homepage WWU
Organization Research Demonstration Experiments Fairy Tale Highlights

Reaction Diffusion Systems

Further details with respect to the treatment of reaction diffusion systems

Observing nature shows that many temporal and spatial structures are not formed by the outside, but rather by the respective system itself. To study these self-organizing processes is the subject of the research group "Pattern Formation in dissipative Systems".

Having a closer look on these self-organizing phenomenons it turns out that a lot of them can be well described by a class of reaction-diffusion equations of the following types:

RD equation for the 2k system

These equations are describing the temporal developments of the two distributions u(x,t) und v(x,t). Their dynamics are determined by a local acting reaction term and by a spatial coupling via a diffusion term. In this way the complex behaviour of many bilogical, chemical, physical and other self-organizing systems can be described. The pulse spreading on a chickens' retina, the Belousov-Zhabotinsky-reaction or dc gas discharge systems may serve as an example for this.

Important aspects of these systems are potential bistabilities already in a state of stationary homogenous structures, spatial, temporal and spatio-temporal inhomogeneous structures including chaotic behaviour.

In the case of stationary structures, the second component v, the so-called inhibitor, gets a stabilizing effect. This stabilizing effect shows to its best advantage if he is fast and if he won't be spread by diffusion. A slowing down of the component v will typically lead to a temporal structure formation (e.g. pulses, running waves), an increased diffusion forming spatial patterns (e.g. periodic Turing-structures, localized filaments). A simultaneous lesion of both conditions facilitates even more complex structures (such as breathing filaments, oscillating areas embedded in an environment of stationary periodical patterns, spatio-temporal chaos). Furthermore exist structure elements containing the properties of well localized particles of well-defined size which interact with each other and also with the boundary. They also can either be destroyed or created. The following image gives examples for some structures of such a two-component-system (binary system).

Bild, ca 37 kB
Self-organizing spatial structures as a solution of an activator-inhibitor-reaction-diffusion-system.

The numerical an analytic treatment of these activator-inhibitor-reaction-diffusion-sytsems is done in order to examine the basic mechanisms of natural pattern formation with the aim to be able to predict the principle phenomenons theoretically. Over and above that they are used to interpret experiments done on plasma systems and semiconductors (please also have a look at the following fields of work: "DC Gas Discharge" and "AC Gas Discharge".

Quasi-Particles

Current research deals with the appearance of localized moving structures, so-called quasi-particles, in different gas discharge systems. Examinations have shown, that a binary model as described above, either does not create those structures at all, or only in very special parameter areas. That is why the following three-component-reaction-diffusion-model is being examined at the moment.

RD equation for the 3k system

Due to this model it is possible to explain quasi-particle-solutions. The underlying mechanism is also valid for one-, two- and three-dimensional systems. The following images show quasi-particles in two- and three-dimensional systems. The "applet cellular"  (optimized for Netscape Navigator) is the implementation of a cellular automata, which realises the three-component system named above, using easy rules. It can also show moving localized resolution.

Puls
Spot

Quasi-particles in a three-component-reaction-diffusion system. The direction of motion results by a shift of the component v against the component u. These structures exist on two- and three dimensional domains.

Scattering Quasi-Particles

To examine the interaction of dissipative quasi-particles, the three-component-reaction-diffusion system is solved on three-dimensional domains and in time. Thatfor we will use a finite difference algorithm which will be calculated by the Cray T3E of the High-Performance Computing-Centre Stuttgart. In dependency on the system parameters, you can observe scattering, annihilation and generation (see the image on the right) of quasi-particles. Furthermore complex structures can be see that disintegrate on the other hand into quasi-particles due to symmetry breaking. Normally the tails of quasi-particles decay exponentially to the homogeneous background state, but for special parameters some oscillating behaviour is observed which leads to the formation of quasi-particle-molecules. If the amplitudes of these oszillating tails are to huge, the tails of two quasi-particles can superimpose and generate a third particle. The tails of this new particle will superimpose with the ones of his neighbours and further quasi-particles will be generated in a chain reaction like process.

Reduced Dynamics

Theoretical investigation in the parameter range Dw® 0 and q® 0 admit an analytical prediction concerning the transition from stationary to moving structures . This mechanism is based on a slowdown of the inhibitor v. This component does not react fast enough on the shifting of the component u any more, so that the displacement leads to a propagation or to a rotation, if the structure is rotational invariant like quasi-particle-molecules. It is moreover possible to calculate the interaction, namely the impacts between different quasi-particles and to compare them with simulations. Even inhomogeneities can be integrated into the model in order to predict their influence on the direction of the movement and the velocity of the movement. Here the potential annihilation or generation of particles has not been taken into consideration. One gets simple equations of movement, which can be simulated with little numeric effort. The "applet interact"  (optimized for Netscape navigator) is based on these equations of movement and admits an interactive examination of the different possibilities ]

Literature

  • Dissipative Solitons in Reaction-Diffusion Systems
    Purwins, H.-G., H.U. Bödeker, A.W. Liehr
    in: N. Akhmediev, A. Ankiewicz (eds.) Dissipative Solitons
    Lectures Notes in Physics, Springer (2005)
  • Rotating Bound States of Dissipative Solitons
    Liehr, A.W., A.S. Moskalenko, Yu.A. Astrov, M. Bode, H.-G. Purwins
    Eur. J. Phys. B37, 199-204 (2004)
  • Measuring the Interaction Law of Dissipative Solitons
    Bödeker, H.U., A.W. Liehr, M.C. Röttger, T.D. Frank, R. Friedrich, H.-G. Purwins
    New J. Phys. 6, 62 (2004)
  • Transition from Stationary to Rotating Bound States of Dissipative Solitons
    Liehr, A.W., A.S. Moskalenko, H.-G. Purwins
    In: High Performance Computing in Science and Engineering '03, Krause,E.; Jäger,W. (eds.),pp 225-234 (2003)
  • Noise-Covered Drift Bifurcation of Dissipative Solitons in a Planar Gas-Discharge System
    Bödeker, H.U., M.C. Röttger, A.W. Liehr, T.D. Frank, R. Friedrich, H.-G. Purwins
    Physical Review E 67, 56220 (2003)
  • Drift-Bifurcation Detection for Dissipative Solitons
    Liehr, A.W., H.U. Bödeker, M.C. Röttger, T.D. Frank, R. Friedrich, H.-G. Purwins
    New Journal of Physics 5, 89.1 - 89.9 (2003)
  • Rotational Bifurcation of Localized Dissipative Solitons
    Moskalenko, A.S., A.W. Liehr, H.-G. Purwins
    Europhysics Letters 63, 361 (2003)
  • Interaction of dissipative Solitons: Particle-Like Behaviour of Localized Structures in a Three-Component Reaction-Diffusion System
    Bode, M., A.W. Liehr, C.P. Schenk, H.-G. Purwins
    Physica D 161, 45 (2002)
  • Pattern Formation in Dissipative Systems: A Particle Approach
    Bode, M
    In: B. Kramer (Hrsg.): Advances in Solid State Physics, Vol. 41, Springer, 2001, S. 369-381
  • The Generation of Dissipative Quasi-Particles near Turing´s Bifurcation in Three-Dimensional Reaction-Diffusion Systems
    Liehr, A.W., M. Bode, H.-G. Purwins
    Projekt Dynamical Structures in Three-Component Reaction-Diffusion Systems des Höchstleistungsrechenzentrums Stuttgart (HLRS), Springer (2001)
  • Dissipative Quasiteilchen in dreikomponentigen Reaktions-Diffusions-Systemen
    Liehr, Andreas W.
    Diplomarbeit, Institut für Angewandte Physik, Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster, 1999
  • Numerische und analytische Untersuchung solitärer Strukturen in zwei- und dreikomponentigen Reaktions-Diffusions-Systemen
    Schenk, Christian P.:
    Dissertation, Institut für Angewandte Physik, Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität M¨nster, 1999
  • Spot Bifurcations in Three-Component Reaction-Diffusions Systems: The Onset of Propagation
    Or-Guil, M., M. Bode, C.P. Schenk, H.-G. Purwins
    Phys. Rev. E. 57, 6432-6437 (1998)
  • Interaction of Self-Organized Quasiparticles in an Two-Dimensional Reaction-Diffusion System: The Formation of Molecules
    Schenk, C., P. Schütz, M. Bode, H.-G. Purwins
    Phys. Rev. E 57, 6480-6486 (1998)
  • Interacting pulses in three-component reaction-diffusion systems on two-dimensional domains
    Schenk, C.P., M. Or-Guil, M. Bode, H.-G. Purwins
    Phys. Rev. Lett. 78, 3781-3784 (1997)
  • Summary on Work on Reaction Diffusion Systems (PDF)

This page:  print

© 2011 Institute of Applied Physics
Workgroup Nonlinear Systems and Patternformation - Magnetism - Material Science - Applied Physics

© 2011 Institute of Applied Physics
Workgroup Nonlinear Systems and Patternformation - Magnetism - Material Science - Applied Physics
Corrensstr. 2· D48149 Münster
Tel.: +49 251 83-3 35 11 · Fax: +49 251 83-3 97 97 E-Mail: purwins@nwz.uni-muenster.de

Institut für Angewandte Physik

Nichtlineare Systeme und Strukturbildung - Magnetismus - Materialwissenschaften - Angewandte Physik

Nichtlineare Systeme und Strukturbildung - Magnetismus - Materialwissenschaften - Angewandte Physik

Suchen english  Startseite der WWU
Organisation Forschen Demonstrationsexperimente Märchen Highlights

Reaktions-Diffusionssysteme

Weitere Details bezüglich der Behandlung von Reaktions-Diffusionssysten

Bei der Beschreibung der Natur fällt auf, dass viele zeitliche und räumliche Strukturen nicht von außen aufgeprägt sind, sondern vielmehr von den jeweiligen Systemen selbst erzeugt werden. Das Studium dieser Selbststrukturierungsprozesse ist Inhalt der Arbeiten der Forschungsgruppe "Strukturbildung in dissipativen Systemen".

Bei der Untersuchung solcher Phänomene stellt man fest, dass sich etliche Systeme gut durch die Klasse der Reaktions-Diffusions-Gleichungen beschreiben lassen. Dabei handelt es sich um Gleichungen des folgenden Typs:

RD-Gleichung für 2k-System

Diese Gleichungen beschreiben die zeitliche Entwicklung zweier Verteilungen u(x,t) und v(x,t). Die Dynamik wird hier bestimmt durch einen lokal wirkenden Reaktionsterm und durch eine räumliche Kopplung über den Diffusionsterm. Das komplexe Verhalten einer großen Klasse von biologischen, chemischen, physikalischen und anderen sich selbst organisierenden Systemen läßt sich so gut beschreiben. Als Beispiele mögen hier die Pulsausbreitung auf einer Hühnerretina, die Belousov-Zhabotinsky-Reaktion oder Gleichspannungsgasentladungssysteme gelten.

Wichtige Aspekte dieser Systeme sind mögliche Bistabilitäten schon im Falle stationärer homogener Strukturen, räumliche, zeitliche und raumzeitliche inhomogene Strukturen einschließlich chaotischen Verhaltens.

Im Fall stationärer Strukturen kommt der zweiten Komponente v, dem sogenannten Inhibitor, eine stabilisierende Wirkung zu. Diese kommt besonders dann zur Geltung, wenn er schnell ist und nicht durch Diffusion zu weit verteilt wird. Eine Verlangsamung der Komponente v führt typischer Weise zu zeitlicher Strukturbildung (z.B. Pulse, laufende Wellen), eine erhöhte Diffusion zu räumlichen Mustern (z.B. periodische Turing-Strukturen, lokalisierte Filamente). Eine gleichzeitige Verletzung beider Bedingungen ermöglicht noch weit komplexere Strukturen (z.B. atmende Filamente, oszillierende Bereiche eingebettet in eine Umgebung aus stationären periodischen Mustern, raumzeitliches Chaos). Außerdem existieren Strukturelemente mit den Eigenschaften von gut lokalisierten Teilchen wohldefinierter Größe, die miteinander und mit dem Rand wechselwirken sowie vernichtet und erzeugt werden können. Die folgende Abbildung stellt beispielhaft einige Strukturen in einem solchen zweikomponentigen System dar.

Bild, ca 37 kB
Selbstorganisierte räumliche Strukturen als Lösung einer Aktivator-Inhibitor-Reaktions-Diffusions-Gleichung

Die numerische und analytische Behandlung der genannten Aktivator-Inhibitor-Reaktions-Diffusions-Systeme geschieht in der Absicht, grundlegende Mechanismen der Strukturbildung in der Natur zu erforschen und prinzipielle Phänomene theoretisch vorauszusagen. Darüber hinaus werden sie verwendet, um Experimente an Plasma-Systemen und Halbleitern zu interpretieren (siehe Arbeitsgebiete "DC-Gasentladung" und "AC-Gasentladung".

Quasiteilchen

Die aktuellen Arbeiten beschäftigen sich mit dem Auftreten lokalisierter bewegter Strukturen, sogenannter Quasiteilchen, in unterschiedlichen Gasentladungssystemen. Die Untersuchungen haben gezeigt, dass ein zweikomponentiges Modell, wie das oben beschriebene, solche Strukturen nicht, oder nur in sehr speziellen Parameterbereichen zeigt. Zur Zeit wird daher das folgende dreikomponentige Reaktions-Diffusions-Modell untersucht:

RD-Gleichung für 3k-System

Mit diesem Modell ist es möglich, teilchenartige Lösungen zu erklären. Der zugrundeliegende Mechanismus greift dabei in ein-, zwei- und dreidimensionalen Systemen. Die folgenden Bilder zeigen Quasiteilchen in zwei- und dreidimensionalen Systemen. Das Applet "Cellular"  (optimiert für Netscape Navigator) ist die Implementierung  eines zellularen Automaten, der mit einfachen Regeln die gleichen Mechanismen realisiert, wie die oben angegebenen dreikomponentigen Differentialgleichungen und ebenfalls bewegte lokalisierte Lösungen zeigen kann.

Puls
Spot

Quasiteilchen in einem dreikomponentigen Reaktions-Diffusions-System. Die Bewegungsrichtung ergibt sich aus einer Verschiebung der Komponente v gegen die Komponente u. Die Strukturen existieren auf zwei- und dreidimensionalen Grundgebieten.

Stoßende Quasiteilchen

Zur Untersuchung der Wechselwirkung dissipativer Quasiteilchen wird das dreikomponentige Reations-Diffusions-System auf dreidimensionalen Grundgebieten und in der Zeit gelöst. Hierfür verwenden wir einen finiten Differenzen Algorithmus, der auf der Cray T3E des Höchstleistungsrechenzentrums Stuttgart gerechnet wird. Dabei lassen sich in Abhängigkeit von den Systemparametern Streuung, Vernichtung und Erzeugung (Bild rechts) von Quasiteilchen beobachten. Desweiteren werden komplexe Strukturen beobachtet, die durch Symmetriebrechung wiederum in Quasiteilchen zerfallen. Für spezielle Systemparameter fallen die Flanken der Quasiteilchen nicht exponentiell gegen den homogenen Grundzustand ab, sondern weisen sogenannte oszillierende Ausläufer auf, die die Bildung von Quasiteilchen-Molekülen ermöglichen. Sind diese oszillierenden Ausläufer allerdings zu stark ausgeprägt, so bilden sich aus den Überlagerungen der oszillierenden Ausläufer zweier Quasiteilchen weitere Quasiteilchen aus. Die oszillierenden Ausläufer der neu entstandenen Quasiteilchen überlagern sich wiederum mit ihren Nachbarteilchen und eine kettenreaktionsartige Generation neuer Quasiteilchen setzt ein.

Die reduzierte Dynamik

Theoretische Untersuchungen im Parameterbereich Dw® 0 und q® 0 lassen eine analytische Vorhersage des Übergangs von stationären zu bewegten Strukturen zu. Der Mechanismus beruht auf einer Verlangsamung des Inhibitors v. Diese Komponente reagiert nicht mehr schnell genug auf eine Verlagerung der Komponente u und die so entstandene Verschiebung bewirkt eine Propagation oder auch eine Rotation, wenn es sich um eine rotationsinvariante Strukturen wie zum Beispiel Quasiteilchen-Moleküle handelt. Darüber hinaus ist es möglich, die Wechselwirkung, also Stöße, zwischen verschiedenen Quasiteilchen zu berechnen und mit den Simulationen zu vergleichen. Auch Inhomogenitäten können in das Modell mit aufgenommen und ihr Einfluss auf die Bewegungsrichtung und -geschwindigkeit vorhergesagt werden. Nicht berücksichtigt wird bei solchen Simulationen die Möglichkeit von Teilchenvernichtung oder Entstehung. Man gelangt zu einfachen Bewegungsgleichungen, die mit sehr geringem numerischen Aufwand simuliert werden können. Das Applet "Interact"  (optimiert für Netscape Navigator) basiert auf diesen Bewegungsgleichungen und ermöglicht eine interaktive Untersuchung der verschiedenen Möglichkeiten.

Literaturverzeichnis

  • Dissipative Solitons in Reaction-Diffusion Systems
    Purwins, H.-G., H.U. Bödeker, A.W. Liehr
    in: N. Akhmediev, A. Ankiewicz (eds.) Dissipative Solitons
    Lectures Notes in Physics, Springer (2005)
  • Rotating Bound States of Dissipative Solitons
    Liehr, A.W., A.S. Moskalenko, Yu.A. Astrov, M. Bode, H.-G. Purwins
    Eur. J. Phys. B37, 199-204 (2004)
  • Measuring the Interaction Law of Dissipative Solitons
    Bödeker, H.U., A.W. Liehr, M.C. Röttger, T.D. Frank, R. Friedrich, H.-G. Purwins
    New J. Phys. 6, 62 (2004)
  • Transition from Stationary to Rotating Bound States of Dissipative Solitons
    Liehr, A.W., A.S. Moskalenko, H.-G. Purwins
    In: High Performance Computing in Science and Engineering '03, Krause,E.; Jäger,W. (eds.),pp 225-234 (2003)
  • Noise-Covered Drift Bifurcation of Dissipative Solitons in a Planar Gas-Discharge System
    Bödeker, H.U., M.C. Röttger, A.W. Liehr, T.D. Frank, R. Friedrich, H.-G. Purwins
    Physical Review E 67, 56220 (2003)
  • Drift-Bifurcation Detection for Dissipative Solitons
    Liehr, A.W., H.U. Bödeker, M.C. Röttger, T.D. Frank, R. Friedrich, H.-G. Purwins
    New Journal of Physics 5, 89.1 - 89.9 (2003)
  • Rotational Bifurcation of Localized Dissipative Solitons
    Moskalenko, A.S., A.W. Liehr, H.-G. Purwins
    Europhysics Letters 63, 361 (2003)
  • Interaction of dissipative Solitons: Particle-Like Behaviour of Localized Structures in a Three-Component Reaction-Diffusion System
    Bode, M., A.W. Liehr, C.P. Schenk, H.-G. Purwins
    Physica D 161, 45 (2002)
  • Pattern Formation in Dissipative Systems: A Particle Approach
    Bode, M
    In: B. Kramer (Hrsg.): Advances in Solid State Physics, Vol. 41, Springer, 2001, S. 369-381
  • The Generation of Dissipative Quasi-Particles near Turing´s Bifurcation in Three-Dimensional Reaction-Diffusion Systems
    Liehr, A.W., M. Bode, H.-G. Purwins
    Projekt Dynamical Structures in Three-Component Reaction-Diffusion Systems des Höchstleistungsrechenzentrums Stuttgart (HLRS), Springer (2001)
  • Dissipative Quasiteilchen in dreikomponentigen Reaktions-Diffusions-Systemen
    Liehr, Andreas W.
    Diplomarbeit, Institut für Angewandte Physik, Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster, 1999
  • Numerische und analytische Untersuchung solitärer Strukturen in zwei- und dreikomponentigen Reaktions-Diffusions-Systemen
    Schenk, Christian P.:
    Dissertation, Institut für Angewandte Physik, Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität M¨nster, 1999
  • Spot Bifurcations in Three-Component Reaction-Diffusions Systems: The Onset of Propagation
    Or-Guil, M., M. Bode, C.P. Schenk, H.-G. Purwins
    Phys. Rev. E. 57, 6432-6437 (1998)
  • Interaction of Self-Organized Quasiparticles in an Two-Dimensional Reaction-Diffusion System: The Formation of Molecules
    Schenk, C., P. Schütz, M. Bode, H.-G. Purwins
    Phys. Rev. E 57, 6480-6486 (1998)
  • Interacting pulses in three-component reaction-diffusion systems on two-dimensional domains
    Schenk, C.P., M. Or-Guil, M. Bode, H.-G. Purwins
    Phys. Rev. Lett. 78, 3781-3784 (1997)
  • Summary on Work on Reaction Diffusion Systems (PDF)

Diese Seite:  :: Seite drucken

© 2011 Institut für Angewandte Physik
Arbeitsgruppe Nichtlineare Systeme und Strukturbildung - Magnetismus - Materialwissenschaften - Angewandte Physik

© 2011 Institut für Angewandte Physik
Arbeitsgruppe Nichtlineare Systeme und Strukturbildung - Magnetismus - Materialwissenschaften - Angewandte Physik
Corrensstr. 2· 48149 Münster
Tel.: +49 251 83-3 35 11 · Fax: +49 251 83-3 97 97
E-Mail: purwins@nwz.uni-muenster.de