Students’ Club of Optical Technologies Training

This new and open learning concept is intended to support the discovery or strengthening of hidden or already existing interest in the areas of optics and photonics. Additionally, the development of further personal knowledge and skills shall be supported. This provides a practice-oriented and early decision-making support for possible future activity in research and development areas of industry as well as non-university research institutes.

It is planned to regularly meet for shop talk and handicraft like in a “community of interests" on physical and technical optics. Therewith, the “Students’ Club of Optical Technologies” aims to bridge the gap between lectures on the one hand and seminars, internships and mini-research on the other.

SCOTT is offering a platform for scientific discussions and first independent research activities. Within SCOTT scientific-technical ideas and questions can be implemented independently and/or in cooperation with the supervisors. Depending on the issue of interest in the context of optical technologies the realization of a solution can be promoted by free experiments in small groups up to the (partial) integration into current research projects of the working group. Deeper insight into the issue of interest can be gained also by technical discussions (based on current publications) or by student presentations (including demo experiments) about corresponding R&D-topics in optics.

A seminar certificate and/or a certificate for a compulsory elective practical course can be obtained. Getting such a certificate – if it would be accepted for the chosen program of studies – is depending on the number of active participants, as well as on the type, quantity and quality of the personal contribution within SCOTT.

The Tutorial Team

Prof. Dr. Carsten Fallnich
Florian Schepers
Martin Schnack

Banner Scott

Students’ Club of Optical Technologies Training

Dieses neuartige und offene Lernkonzept soll helfen, verborgenes oder bereits vorhandenes Interesse an den Themenschwerpunkten Optische Technologien und Photonik zu entdecken bzw. zu verstärken. Darüber hinaus sollen persönliche Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten auf dem Fachgebiet weiterentwickelt werden. Dadurch wird eine praxisorientierte und frühzeitige Entscheidungshilfe für eine eventuell zukünftig angestrebte Tätigkeit in Forschungs- und Entwicklungsbereichen (F&E) der Industrie sowie außeruniversitären Forschungsinstitutionen geboten.

Es ist geplant, sich regelmäßig zum Fachsimpeln und Handwerken in einer Art "Interessengemeinschaft" auf dem Gebiet der physikalischen und technischen Optik zu treffen. Mit dem " Students' Club Optical Technologies " soll zwischen Vorlesungen auf der einen Seite und Seminaren, Praktika und Miniforschung auf der anderen Seite eine Lücke mit fließendem Übergang geschlossen werden.

SCOTT bietet eine Plattform für wissenschaftliche Diskussionen und erste eigenständige Forschungstätigkeiten. Wissenschaftlich-technische Ideen und Fragestellungen können selbstständig und/oder in Zusammenarbeit mit den Betreuern umgesetzt und beantwortet werden. Abhängig von der Fragestellung im Umfeld der Optischen Technologien kann die Bearbeitung in Form von freiem Experimentieren in Kleingruppen bis hin zur (teilweisen) Einbindung in aktuelle Forschungsprojekte der Arbeitsgruppe erfolgen. Fachliche Diskussionsrunden zu modernen F&E-Themen der Optik (u. a. auf Grundlage aktueller Veröffentlichungen) bis hin zu studentischen Präsentationen (inkl. eigener Demonstrationsexperimente) können zu vertieften Fachkenntnissen verhelfen.

Sofern es der gewählte Studiengang zulässt, kann abhängig von der Anzahl der aktiven Teilnehmer und der Art, Quantität sowie Qualität des erbrachten persönlichen Beitrags zu SCOTT ein Seminarschein oder/und ein Wahlpflichtpraktikumsschein erworben werden.

Das Betreuerteam

Prof. Dr. Carsten Fallnich
Florian Schepers
Martin Schnack