Holographic optical tweezers in vivo and in vitro | Holographic optical stretcher

We are interested in the influence of biomechanical properties on cellular processes and function, especially the viscoelastic properties of cells, blood and whole organisms. Their influence on migration and development is of high interest for biomedical and biophysical research. As model organisms we investigate zebrafish embryos, 3T3 fibroblasts, neurons and more depending on the requirements.

Optical tweezers can be applied for qualitative control and manipulation experiments. In our cooperations with other labs from the Cells-in-Motion Cluster of Excellence we are interested in working on biological questions ranging from the single cell level to the whole organism. This puts specific requirements on the experimental setup, methods and evaluation procedures.

We showed the possibility to trap red blood cells in unperturbed in vivo blood flow (a) to (c). This enables us to investigate them over a longer period of time without misinterpretating multiple red blood cells for one(c).

Further experiments with single cells in vitro show the applicability of holographic optical tweezers to deform and steer cells (e). It gives us access to the biomechanical properties of the cell, such as the Youngs Modulus.

HOT

Holographisch optische Pinzetten in vivo und in vitro | Der holographisch optische Dehner

Wir interessieren uns für den Einfluss biomechanischer Eigenschaften auf zelluläre Prozesse und Funktionen, im speziellen die viskoelastischen Eigenschaften von Zellen, Blut und kompletten Organismen. Deren Einfluss auf Migration und Entwicklung ist von höchstem Interesse für biomedizinische und biophysikalische Untersuchungen. Als Modellorganismus untersuchen wir Zebrafischembryonen, 3T3 Fibroblasten, Neuronen und andere je nach Anforderung.

Optische Pinzetten können für Kontroll- und Manipulationsexperimente angewendet werden. In unseren Kooperationen mit anderen Gruppen des Cells-In-Motion Exzellenzclusters sind wir an biologischen Fragestellungen interessiert, die von Einzelzelluntersuchungen bis zum gesamten Organismus reichen. Dies stellt hohe Anforderungen an unsere experimentellen Aufbauten, verwendete Methoden und Auswerteroutinen.

Wir zeigen das Fangen roter Blutkörperchen im ungestörten in vivo Blutfluss (a bis c). Dies ermöglicht uns die Untersuchung einer einzelnen roten Blutzelle über lange Zeit ohne Verwechslung mehrerer roter Blutkörperchen für eine (c).

Weitere Experimente mit einzelnen Zellen in vitro zeigt die Anwendbarkeit holographisch optischer Pinzetten zur Deformation und Steuerung von Zellen (d). Damit erreichen wir biomechanische Eigenschaften der Zellen, z.B. das Youngs Modul.

HOT