Junior researchers

Doctoral study

Students in the Faculty of Philology can earn a doctorate either by completing an individual doctoral project or participating in a structured PhD programme.

a woman in a library
© WWU - Peter Grewer

Individual doctoral projects

If you wish to earn your PhD by completing an individual doctoral project, you must first apply to have a professor in the faculty act as your doctoral supervisor. You may submit your request to the professor of your choice.

hands of a team
© Rawpixel.com / Fotolia

Structured PhD programme

Junior researchers can earn their PhD within three years by participating in a structured doctoral programme, e.g. the Graduate Schools "Empirical and Applied Linguistics", "Practices of Literature" and the "Münster School of Ancient Cultures"

Habilitation

In the German higher education system, a habilitation is a post-doctoral qualification which officially certifies one’s ability to independently and responsibly conduct research and provide instruction in an academic/scientific subject (teaching qualification). By earning a habilitation, the post-doctoral candidate receives permission to teach the subject in question (venia legendi), and the right to bear the title “Privatdozent/-in”, comparable to an “assistant professor” in Anglo-Saxon countries.

For more information, see the Habilitation Regulations of the Faculty of Philology [de; pdf].

Promotion und Habilitation

Promotion

Am Fachbereich 09 Philologie ist die Umsetzung eines individuellen Promotionsvorhabens ebenso möglich wie das Promovieren in einem strukturierten Programm.

Nahaufnahme eines lesenden jungen Mannes
© time. / photocase.com

Individuelle Promotionsvorhaben

Möchten Sie Ihre Promotion im Rahmen eines individuellen Forschungsvorhabens durchführen, müssen Sie sich zunächst um eine Betreuung des Promotionsvorhabens im Fachbereich bewerben. Sie können Ihre Bewerbung an den Dekan oder direkt an die gewünschte Hochschullehrerin oder den gewünschten Hochschullehrer richten.
Weitere Informationen zur Bewerbung

Personen sitzen im Kreis um die Zeichnung eines Doktorhuts
© Rawpixel - Fotolia.com

Strukturiertes Promovieren

An den Graduiertenschulen "Empirical and Applied Linguistics", "Practices of Literature", "European Classics" und dem Graduiertenkolleg "Literarische Form" haben Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler die Möglichkeit, im Rahmen eines strukturierten Programms innerhalb von drei Jahren zu promovieren.
Graduiertenschulen am Fachbereich Philologie

Habilitation

Die Habilitation dient der förmlichen Feststellung der Fähigkeit, ein wissenschaftliches Fach selbständig und verantwortlich in Forschung und Lehre zu vertreten (Lehrbefähigung). Mit der Habilitation erwirbt die Habilitandin/der Habilitand die Lehrbefugnis (venia legendi) in dem Fach, für das die Lehrbefähigung ausgesprochen wird, und das Recht, die Bezeichnung "Privatdozentin/Privatdozent" zu führen.

Weitere Informationen liefert die Habilitationsordnung des Fachbereichs Philologie.