Intercultural training courses

The International Office offers training courses for everyone at Münster University. The courses are free of charge.

Workshops for students

dialogue of the cultures
© Presseamt der Stadt Münster / MünsterView

Dialogue between cultures – intercultural competence training [de]

It is not uncommon for intercultural encounters to be marked by uncertainty and misunderstandings – despite a fundamental readiness on the part of those involved to show tolerance and understanding. This is why intercultural competence has become a key competence. Please note that this workshop is offered in German.

     

people forming a house
© shutterstock

Living in a multi-cultural society [de]

Germany is a country which attracts immigrants, and this presents many challenges. It is not only that individual people experience cultural diversity in their everyday life – all institutions (e.g. authorities, welfare organizations, schools etc) are now experiencing how intercultural encounters are making changes to everyday working life. One way of reacting to this new situation is through intercultural opening. Please note that this workshop is offered in German.

     

© shutterstock

Cultural diversity – taking a closer look at social realities [de]

Our daily lives are influenced by cultural diversity. But what actually is culture? Which cultures do we encounter? And which cultures does each one of us belong to? After an attempt to define “culture”, the workshop deals with cultural diversity in Germany. Please note that this workshop is held in German.

Workshops for teachers and staff

students meeting at a small table
© WWU / Peter Grewer

Working successfully in an international context [de]

What do I do when foreign students don’t answer me directly? How should I react when, for example, a female student doesn’t look me straight in the eye? What should I pay attention to when making a criticism? At Münster University, intercultural competence is increasingly becoming a key competence. Please note that this workshop is offered in German.

     

Cultural sensitivity in working with Japanese teachers, staff and students [de]

What factors contribute to successful communication and collaboration between German and Japanese people? What can lead to conflicts, and how can conflicts be solved? This workshop deals with these and other questions, paying special attention to the university context. Please note that this workshop is offered in German.

Interkulturelle Weiterbildung

Das International Office bietet Weiterbildungskurse für alle Mitglieder der WWU an. Die Teilnahme an den Kursen ist kostenfrei.

Workshops für Studierende

Dialog Der Kulturen
© Presseamt der Stadt Münster / MünsterView

Dialog der Kulturen - ein interkulturelles Kompetenztraining

Interkulturelle Begegnungen sind trotz grundsätzlicher Bereitschaft zu Toleranz und Verständigung nicht selten von Unsicherheit und Missverständnissen geprägt. Interkulturelle Kompetenz ist daher zu einer Schlüsselkompetenz geworden.

     

     

© shutterstock

Leben in einer multikulturellen Gesellschaft

Als Einwanderungsland steht Deutschland vor vielen Herausforderungen. Nicht nur jede Einzelne/jeder Einzelne erlebt im Alltag kulturelle Diversität, auch alle Institutionen (Behörden, Wohlfahrtsverbände, Schulen etc.) erfahren, wie interkulturelle Begegnungen den Berufsalltag verändern. Eine Möglichkeit, auf diese veränderte Situation zu reagieren, ist die Interkulturelle Öffnung.

     

© shutterstock

Kulturelle Vielfalt – Annäherung an die gesellschaftliche Realität

Kulturelle Vielfalt prägt unseren Alltag. Doch was ist Kultur überhaupt? Welche Kulturen begegnen uns? Und welchen Kulturen gehört jeder von uns an? Nach einer Annäherung an die Definition von Kultur beschäftigt sich der Workshop mit der kulturellen Vielfalt in Deutschland.

Workshops für Lehrende und Mitarbeiter

© WWU / Peter Grewer

Erfolgreich arbeiten im internationalen Kontext

Was mache ich, wenn ausländische Studierende mir nicht direkt antworten? Wie gehe ich z. B. damit um, dass eine Studierende mir nicht direkt in die Augen blickt? Was sollte ich bei einem Kritikgespräch beachten? An der WWU wird interkulturelle Kompetenz für alle immer mehr zu einer Schlüsselqualifikation. 

     

Deutschlandsuedkorea Fahnen

Kultursensible Zusammenarbeit mit japanischen Lehrenden, MitarbeiterInnen und Studierenden

Welche Faktoren spielen eine Rolle in erfolgreicher deutsch-japanischer Kommunikation und Zusammenarbeit? Was kann zu Konflikten führen und wie können Konflikte gelöst werden? Dieser Workshop befasst sich mit diesen und anderen Fragen und betrachtet dabei speziell auch den universitären Kontext.