Scholarships provided by the WWU Graduate Centre

  • 1. Stipends for stays abroad and get-to-know stays (IP@WWU, PhDs)

    If you are a doctoral student enrolled at the WWU and are planing a stay abroad to advance your research, you can apply for a research stipend (NEW: conference trips funding!). Further information may be found here.

    Professors who are in contact with potential PhD students from abroad may apply for a get-to-know stipend for these candidates. These stipends offer professors and PhD applicants a chance to clarify a future research project, get to know each other and make a deliberate decision regarding future collaboration. Further information may be found here.

  • 2. Short-term PhD stipends (Sybille-Hahne Foundation, PhDs)

    After the first successful call in October 2015, the WWU Münster again offers short-term PhD scholarships (Matching Funds) for WWU's doctoral students. Funds for the scholarships are provided by the Sybille-Hahne Foundation. The scholarships amount to 600 € per month and can be granted for a maximum period of four months. These scholarships are intended to fill financial gaps at any stage of the PhD. You may download the application forms here:

    Bewerbungsbogen/Application Form
    Richtlinien für die Vergabe von Promotionsstipendien (The WWU's guidelines for PhD scholarships, in German)

    Only fully completed and appropriately delivered application forms will be considered.

    The following documents must be attached to the application:

    1. Work plan which clearly describes the current state of the academic project, and includes a time plan as well as the content.
    2. Reference letter from the supervising professor, including an evaluation of the work plan.
    3. Certificate of complementary funding of at least 450 € but no more than 765 €, as mentioned in the guidelines §2 section 3.

    Currently no application possible. The deadline was January 31st. 

  • 3. Teaching and research assistantships (STIBET, PhDs)

    The WWU Graduate Centre provides research and teaching assistantships for international PhD students. These are part of the project STIBET Doktoranden which is promoted by the DAAD and financed by the Federal Foreign Office (Auswärtiges Amt). Professors of the University of Münster can nominate international PhD applicants for a research or a teaching assistantship.

    Details about the teaching and research assistantships and the application form may be found here:

    Call for applications
    Application Form

    Please email the fully completed application form and the letter of recommendation to Ms Katarzyna Krukar: internationals.gc@uni-muenster.de. The recommendation letter should describe the suitability of the candidate as well as the intended activity and its added value for the institute as well as for the PhD student.

    Currently no application possible. The deadline was January 22nd.

  • 4. Stipends for postdocs

    The Westphalian Wilhelms-University of Münster (WWU) has anchored the promotion of young scientists in its mission, and is therefore awarding stipends through the WWU Graduate Centre to outstanding young researchers in the postdoctoral phase twice a year. 50% of the funds are to be used to support women.

PhD funding advice

The financing of one's PhD is a very important concern for most doctoral students, especially in the beginning of the endavour. If funding through employment at an institute, a work group or a chair is not possible, you can still apply for one of the various scholarships.

In order to support PhDs in their search of suitable funding, the WWU has established the advisory service for external funding applications (SAFIR). Ms Linda Dieks may provide you with further assistance in this field. You can contact her either via phone (+49 251 83-2 10 83) or email (linda.dieks@uni-muenster.de).

Stipendien des WWU Graduate Centres

  • 1. Stipendien für Auslands- und Kennenlernaufenthalte (IP@WWU, PhDs)

    Wenn Sie als DoktorandIn der WWU einen Auslandsaufenthalt planen, der die Arbeit an Ihrem Forschungsvorhaben unterstützt, können Sie sich für Forschungsstipendium bewerben (NEU: Förderung von Konferenzreisen!). Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

    HochschullehrerInnen, die mit potentiellen Promovierenden aus dem Ausland in Kontakt stehen, können für diese KandidatInnen ein Kennenlernstipendium beantragen. Diese Stipendien dienen dazu, während eines zweiwöchigen Kennenlernaufenthalts die Grundlagen für ein Forschungsprojekt zu klären, sich kennenzulernen und anschließend fundiert zu entscheiden, ob die Zusammenarbeit erfolgsversprechend ist. Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

  • 2. Kurzstipendien (Sybille-Hahne-Stiftung, PhDs)

    Nach der erfolgreichen ersten Ausschreibungsrunde im Oktober 2015 vergibt die WWU Münster erneut Kurzzeit-Promotionsstipendien (Matching Funds) an Promovierende der WWU. Die Mittel für die Promotionsstipendien werden von der Sybille Hahne-Stiftung zur Verfügung gestellt. Die Stipendien haben eine Höhe von 600 €/Monat und können für einen Zeitraum von max. vier Monaten vergeben werden und dienen der Überbrückung von Finanzierungslücken zu Beginn, während und am Ende der Promotion. Die Unterlagen für Ihre Bewerbung können Sie hier herunterladen:

    Bewerbungsbogen/Application Form
    Richtlinien für die Vergabe von Promotionsstipendien durch die WWU

    Bei der Auswahl werden nur vollständig ausgefüllte Bewerbungsbögen (siehe Download) berücksichtigt.

    Dem Antrag müssen folgende Unterlagen beigefügt sein:

    1. Ein Arbeitsplan, aus dem der gegenwärtige Stand des wissenschaftlichen Vorhabens klar hervorgeht und der ein inhaltliches und zeitliches Arbeitsprogramm enthält.
    2. Ein Gutachten der betreuenden Wissenschaftlerin/des betreuenden Wissenschaftlers , das eine Einschätzung zum Arbeitsplan enthält.
    3. Eine Erklärung über eine komplementäre Finanzierung gemäß §2 Abs 3 der Richtlinien von mindestens 450 €, höchstens jedoch 765 € .


    Aktuell keine Bewerbung möglich. Die Frist endete am 31. Januar 2017.

  • 3. Lehr- und Forschungsassistenzen (STIBET, PhDs)

    Im Rahmen des Projekts STIBET Doktoranden, gefördert vom DAAD aus Mitteln des Auswärtigen Amts, bietet das WWU Graduate Centre ausländischen Promovierenden Lehr- bzw. Forschungsassistenzen an. Hochschullehrerinnen und Hochschullehrer der WWU können für internationale Promovierende eine Lehr- bzw. Forschungsassistenz beantragen.

    Hinweise zu Lehr- und Forschungsassistenzen sowie den Bewerbungsbogen finden Sie hier:

    Ausschreibung
    Bewerbungsbogen

    Bitte senden Sie den vollständig ausgefüllten Bewerbungsbogen sowie das Empfehlungsschreiben per E-Mail an Frau Katarzyna Krukar : internationals.gc@uni-muenster.de. Das Empfehlungsschreiben sollte die Eignung der Kandidatin oder des Kandidaten sowie eine Beschreibung der angestrebten Tätigkeit und deren Mehrwert für das Institut bzw. die/den Doktoran-din/en darlegen.

    Aktuell keine Bewerbung möglich. Die Frist endete am 22. Januar 2017.

  • 4. Stipendien für Postdocs

    Die Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster (WWU) hat in ihrem Leitbild die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses verankert, und vergibt daher durch das WWU Graduate Centre zweimal jährlich Stipendien für exzellente NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen in der Postdoc-Phase. 50 % der Mittel sollen für die Förderung von Frauen verwendet werden.

Dieks Linda

Beratung zur Promotionsförderung

Die Frage, wie ein Promotionsvorhaben finanziert werden kann, beschäftigt die meisten Promovierenden zu Beginn ihres Projektes. Wenn eine Finanzierung über eine Anstellung an einem Institut, einer AG oder einem Lehrstuhl nicht möglich ist, bleibt die Option, sich für eines der vielen Stipendien zu bewerben.

Um Promovierende bei der Suche nach einer passenden Finanzierung zu unterstützen, hat die WWU eine Beratungsstelle für die Promotionsförderung eingerichtet. Frau Linda Dieks berät sie gerne in ihrer Funktion als Mitarbeiterin der Servicestelle Antragsberatung (SAFIR, Dez. 6.1). Sie erreichen Frau Dieks unter der Telefonnummer +49 251 83-2 10 83 oder über E-mail (linda.dieks@uni-muenster.de).