Research at the WWU. Life in Münster.

International PhDs and postdocs often face particular challenges. Apart from individual consultation and the numerous English speaking workshops offered in the Graduate Centre, we inform you about formalities, accommodation and other aspects that are relevant for a good start in Münster.

Moreover, on these pages you can find information on other service institutions of the WWU.

  • "Die Brücke" - International Centre

    The International Office's Welcome Centre  "Die Brücke" offers advice on all formalities related to stay in Münster.

  • Welcome Centre for international academics

    Academics who are interested in research or teaching at the University of Münster need to take care of certain formalities before arrival. The Welcome Centre at Münster University provides support for international academics in preparing their stay in Münster as well as during the time they are here:  Welcome Centre.

Flat-hunting tips for PhD students

Student Halls of Residence. If you are interested in living in the student halls of residence (student dorms), you should consider applying online even while you are still in your home country. Information on room layout, location and prices may be found on the website of the Student Support Service (Studierendenwerks).

Guest Houses. There are four guest houses with round 100 apartments in total for academics coming to Münster University from abroad, namely Alexander von Humboldt House, Europa House, the Germania Campus, and Edith Stein College. The apartments are different in size and price. Early application is highly recommended due to high desirability of apartments.

Private student dorms in Münster. If you would rather rent privately, be it the whole apartment or a room in a shared flat, the 'Black Board' of the students’ union executive committee (AStA) of the University of Münster might be a good address.

The compiled information on accommodation for international PhDs can be found as a  PDF here.

Language courses

Studying in Münster is a good opportunity to learn German or improve other foreign language skills. Münster University’s Foreign Language Centre offers a wide range of language courses.

Learn German
Learn another foreign language

  • - Language courses - free of charge

    • Intensive German language course at the beginning of each semester. The Münster University’s Foreign Language Centre offers an intensive German course for ERASMUS and exchange students at the beginning of each semester. Information on the language courses is sent out to exchange students after their application, together with their notification of admission.
    • Learning languages while studying. Students enrolled at WWU Münster can attend a variety of courses offered by the Foreign Language Centre during a semester free of charge. Course titles and information on registration may be found here.
    • Language tandem. The Foreign Language Centre also organises a so-called language tandem for German and international students. The idea is that two people who speak different mother tongues meet on a regular basis to learn the other’s language and to find out more about his or her culture.
  • - Fee-based language courses

We wish you a lot of fun and success in learning foreign languages!

Staying with a family

A research or teaching stay abroad is a challenge not only for academics themselves but also for family members that accompany them. During the preparatory and the settling-in phase many questions can emerge. As a family-friendly university the WWU Münster does its best to facilitate the planning, and informs about issues such as  childcare, schools, and financial support for families.

Internationals Banastock Klein

Forschen an der WWU. Leben in Münster.

Internationale Promovende und Postdocs werden häufig mit besonderen Herausforderungen konfrontiert. Neben der indiduellen Beratung im Graduate Centre und den zahlreichen englischsprachigen Workshops, informieren wir Sie an dieser Stelle über Formalitäten, Wohnungssuche und den Start in Münster.

Außerdem finden Sie hier weitere Untersützungsangebote der WWU Münster.

  • Internationales Zentrum "Die Brücke"

    Das Welcome Centre des International Office bietet im Internationalen Zentrum Die Brücke Beratung zu allen notwendigen Formalitäten eines Aufenthalts in Münster.

  • Welcome Centre für internationale Wissenschaftler

    Wer an der Universität Münster forschen oder lehren möchte, sollte vor und nach der Einreise einige Formalitäten beachten. Im Welcome Centre der Universität Münster werden Sie beraten und finden die wichtigsten Informationen für Ihren Aufenthalt im schönen Münster:  Welcome Centre

Tipps zur Wohnungs- bzw. Zimmersuche für DoktorandInnen

Wohnhäuser des Studierendenwerks. Für eine Wohnhung des Studierendenwerkes sollten Sie sich online bereits aus ihrem Heimatland bewerben. Auf den Internetseiten des Studierendenwerks erhalten sie Informationen über die Ausstattung, Lage, Preis und Wartezeiten der Studentenwohnheime.

Gästehäuser. Den internationalen Wissenschaftlern der Universität Münster stehen vier Gästehäuser zur Verfügung: Das Alexander-von-Humboldt-Haus, das Europa-Haus, Wohnungen am Germania-Campus und das Edith-Stein-Kolleg mit insgesamt ca. 100 Wohnungen in verschiedenen Größen und Preiskategorien. Da die Wohnungen in den Gästehäusern sehr begehrt sind, ist eine frühzeitige Anfrage empfehlenswert. Dies gilt vor allem für die Familienwohnungen.

Münster's Studentenwohnheime privater Trägerschaft. Falls Sie ein Zimmer über den freien Wohnungsmarkt finden möchten, könnte das Schwarze Brett der Studierendenvertretung der Uni Münster (AStA) hilfreich sein.

Die zusammengefassten Informationen rund um das Thema Wohnen für internationale Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden sind hier als PDF erhältlich.

Sprachkurse

Ein Studienaufenthalt in Münster ist eine gute Gelegenheit, Deutsch zu lernen oder vorhandene Sprachkenntnisse auszubauen. Am Sprachenzentrum der Universität Münster gibt es eine breite Auswahl an Sprachkursen.

Deutsch lernen
Andere Fremdsprachen lernen

  • - Kostenfreie Sprachkursangebote

    • Intensiv Deutschkurs zu Semesterbeginn. Das Sprachenzentrum der Universität Münster bietet am Anfang jedes Semesters einen Intensivkurs für ERASMUS- und Austauschstudierende an. Informationen zu den Sprachkursen bekommen Austauschstudierende nach der Bewerbung zusammen mit dem Zulassungsbescheid zugeschickt.
    • Studienbegleitende Deutschkurse. Während des Semesters bietet das Sprachenzentrum allen eingeschriebenen Studierenden der WWU Münster zahlreiche kostenfreie Kurse an. Kursangebot, Hinweise zur Anmeldung und weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.
    • Sprachtandem. Das Sprachenzentrum der Universität Münster organisiert auch ein sogenanntes Sprachtandem für deutsche und internationale Studierende. Fremdsprachenlernen im Tandem bedeutet, dass sich zwei Personen mit unterschiedlichen Muttersprachen regelmäßig treffen, um die Sprache des Anderen zu lernen und mehr über dessen Kultur zu erfahren.
  • - Kostenpflichtige Sprachkursangebote

Wir wünschen Ihnen viel Spaß und Erfolg beim Fremdsprachenlernen!

Aufenthalt mit Familie

Ein Forschungs- oder Lehraufenthalt im Ausland ist eine Herausforderung nicht nur für Forschende und Lehrende selbst, sondern auch für die Familienmitglieder, die sie begleiten. Bei der Planung im Vorfeld und während der Eingewöhnungsphase vor Ort entstehen viele Fragen. Die WWU Münster als familiengerechte Hochschule bemüht sich, die Planung zu erleichtern und informiert auf den folgenden Seiten rund um das Thema Kinderbetreuung, Schulen und finanzielle Unterstützung für Familien.