Publications

Prof. Dr. Dr. Alfons Fürst

© AsV

Adamantiana 10 – Origen in France

Pierre Daniel Huet’s Origeniana

Origeniana is considered a milestone in the academic history and research on the Christian philosopher Origen, published in 1668 by the French scholar Pierre Daniel Huet (1630-1721). The three volumes contain the first academic analyses of the life, teachings and writings of Origen. Huet was, however, critical of Origen’s philosophy of reason. Contrary to the rationalism of René Descartes‘ cogito ergo sum, Huet advocated a form of radical skepticism, whose distrust of reason led to equally radical fideism, in which faith is considered superior to reason. It is from this perspective that Huet criticized Origen’s efforts towards a rational understanding of Christianity; with his excessive emphasis on reason and the freedom established therein, the Alexandrinian had led theology down the wrong path. Despite his personal dissent, Huet nonetheless defended Origen from the many unjustified and exaggerated accusations often made against the philosopher throughout the history of Origenism, presenting the latters’ thoughts and critically and objectively reflecting upon them utilising scientific methods.

Alfons Fürst (ed.), Origenes in Frankreich. Die Origeniana Pierre-Daniel Huets (Adamantiana 10), Münster: Aschendorff Verlag, 2017, 390 Seiten, gebunden, 59,- €. ISBN 978-3-402-13723-9


© VHe

Jerome - Asceticism and Scholarship in Late Antiquity

A choleric with misanthropist tendencies, a militant propagator of the ascetic ideal, a versatile and productive author, a master of languages, an industrious translator and an inventive scholar – these are all accurate descriptions of Church Father St. Jerome (347-419). Jerome was an eccentric. Hailing from the province of Dalmatia, he made his career in the metropolises of Late Antiquity (Rome, Constantinople, Antioch), but returned to provincial life in the second half of his life – this time to Bethlehem in Palestine. Thanks to his knowledge of Hebrew, he was the only theologian of his time who managed to provide the Jewish understanding of the Bible to the Christian exegesis. 
Alfons Fürst describes the theological controversies Jerome was caught up with during his lifetime (Arianism, Origenism, Pelagianism), discusses his contribution to the spread of the Christian-ascetic lifestyle, especially among women within the Roman aristocracy, and illustrates his innovative scholarly achievements as translator and interpreter of the Bible. In this volume, the manifold social connections which framed Jerome‘s life are depicted for the first time as a prosopographic study. Selected texts (Latin-German) deliver immediate insight into his works.

Alfons Fürst, Hieronymus - Askese und Wissenschaft in der Spätantike, Freiburg im Breisgau: Verlag Herder, 2016, 448 Seiten, gebunden, ca. 39,99 €, ISBN: 978-3-451-31144-4

  


 

© VdG

Origen - The Homilies and Fragments on the Songs of Songs

With his exegesis on the Song of Songs, Origen surpassed himself – it was with this praise that Jerome endorsed the Christian genius from Alexandria, and to this end, translated two of the former’s sermons on the biblical song of love into Latin. His exegesis was written in the form of a Commentary, with Rufinus’ Latin translation and small yet numerous fragments of the Greek originals surviving.
Alfons Fürst/Holger Strutwolf, Origenes - Die Homilien und Fragmente zum Hohelied (Origenes Werke mit deutscher Übersetzung 9/2), Berlin/Boston: Verlag Walter de Gryuter, Freiburg/Basel/Wien, 2016, 288 Seiten, gebunden, Leinen, ca. 69,95 €. ISBN De Gruyter
978-3-11-046440-5

  


 

© AKG Münster

Origen - The Commentary on the Song of Songs

In his Commentary on the Song of Songs, with which he, according to Jerome, surpassed himself, Origen interprets the dramatic narration of the love between bride and groom as the relationship between the Divine Word and the human soul, respectively Christ and the Church. Since, in Origen’s ecclesiology, the Church represents a collective person formed by the souls of the faithful, the lines between the two interpretations often converge or become indistinguishable. In the course of the exegesis, basic concepts of Christian spirituality are explained in depth, such as the notion of love, the order of love or the understanding of the self as a way to understanding God. The foundation of the exegesis is based upon the Song of Songs being the highest stage of Christian philosophy, where the fully-realized soul attains the vision of God. This interpretation has influenced the Christian exegesis of the Song of Songs, which until the Middle Ages consists of nothing but mere references to Origen. This volume contains the first German translation of the Commentary, with extensive annotations.
Alfons Fürst/Holger Strutwolf, Origenes - Der Kommentar zum Hohelied (Origenes Werke mit deutscher Übersetzung 9/1), Berlin/Boston: Verlag Walter de Gryuter, Freiburg/Basel/Wien: Verlag Herder, 2016, 481 Seiten, gebunden, Leinen, ca. 99,95 €. ISBN Herder 978-3-451-32913-5, ISBN De Gruyter 978-3-11-044255-7

  


  

Adamantiana 5 - Origenes Humanista

Pico della Mirandola's Treatise De salute Origenis disputatio

The works of Origen were an important source of inspiration for the intellectual awakenings of the Renaissance and Humanism, developments in which the oration On the Dignity of Man from 1486 by Giovanni Pico della Mirandola (1463-1494) plays a central role. In his discourse published posthumously in 1496, man, by virtue of his freedom, determines his own position in the cosmos. This capacity for self-determination is the basis of his responsibility for his actions and constitutes his dignity. Pico also comments on Origen in his Nine Hundred Theses from 1486, that it is more reasonable to assume Origen was redeemed than to suppose he was condemned. As this was one of the statements for which he was accused of heresy, he defended himself and Origen in his treatise A Disputation about Origen’s Salvation, the first extensive apologia of the genius from Alexandria since antiquity.
Alfons Fürst/Christian Hengstermann (Hg.), Origenes Humanista. Pico della Mirandolas Traktat De salute Origenis disputatio (Adamantiana 5), Münster: Aschendorff Verlag, 2015, 464 Seiten, gebunden, 62,- €. ISBN 978-3-402-13715-4

  


  

Origen - The Homilies on the First Book of Samuel

Of Origen’s sermons on the Books of Samuel and the Book of Kings, only a few fragments survive. Amongst these is the famous homily on the “witch” of Endor (1 Sam 28) with thoughts on Jesus’ descent into Hell. This volume contains the first German translation including extensive annotations. Furthermore, the introduction explains the most important pieces of information regarding the tradition and the content of this homily.
Alfons Fürst, Origenes - Die Homilien zum ersten Buch Samuel (Origenes Werke mit deutscher Übersetzung 7), Berlin/Boston: Verlag Walter de Gryuter, Freiburg/Basel/Wien: Verlag Herder, 2014, 318 Seiten, gebunden, Leinen, ca. 79,95 €. ISBN Herder 978-3-451-32908-1, ISBN De Gruyter 978-3-11-030088-8

  


 

Adamantiana 4 - The Cambridge Origenists

George Rust's Letter of Resolution Concerning Origen and the Chief of His Opinions

The years 1658-62 represent something like an Origenist stage in English theology, producing not only translations and work editions but entire philosophical systems in the spirit of Origen. The anonymously published writings by the Anglican Bishop George Rust in 1661 are a manifesto of modern Origenism; in critically arguing with the new philosophies of those such as Hobbes or Descartes on one hand and Calvinist theology on the other, Rust further develops fundamental insights by Origen in an original manner.
Alfons Fürst/Christian Hengstermann (Hg.), Die Cambridge Origenists. George Rusts Letter of Resolution Concerning Origen and the Chief of His Opinions (Adamantiana 4), Münster: Aschendorff Verlag, 2013, 384 Seiten, gebunden, 52,- €. ISBN 978-3-402-13714-7

  


 

Anne Conway's Principia Philosophiae

Criticism of Materialism and Speculation on All-Encompassing Unity in Early Modern England

The Principia Philosophiae of the philosopher Anne Conway (1631-79) follows the tradition of Anglo-Saxon Idealism founded by the ‘Cambridge Platonists’. The treatise covers the fundamental metaphysical questions of 17th Century philosophy, most notably those regarding the relation between mind and matter, between the finite world and the infinite absolute. This volume, the first German publication on the subject, introduces the reasoning of the Cambridge Platonists, the life and works of Anne Conway, and provides an overview of the central topics in her Principia Philosophiae.
Christian Hengstermann/Ulrike Weichert (Hg.), Anne Conways Principia Philosophiae. Materialismuskritik und Alleinheits-Spekulation im neuzeitlichen England (Pontes 52), Berlin: LIT Verlag, 2012, 188 Seiten, 19,90 €. ISBN 978-3-643-11236-1

  


 

Adamantiana 2 - Autonomy and Human Dignity

Origen in Early Modern Philosophy

Emphasizing the moral autonomy of man, his inalienable dignity as the image of God, and the perspective of hope for universal salvation, Origen’s (185-253/54) theology has had a major impact on Early Modern thought; European humanism, the Cambridge School’s Platonism and German classical philosophy have all drawn from Origen’s ideas and further developed upon them. Highlighting key paradigms from the modern history of philosophy and theology, the second volume of the Adamantiana series traces the legacy of the Alexandrian scholar up to present day. Thus, Origen proves himself to be a significant forefather of modern thought regarding autonomy and human dignity.
Alfons Fürst/Christian Hengstermann (Hg.), Autonomie und Menschenwürde. Origenes in der Philosophie der Neuzeit (Adamantiana 2), Münster: Aschendorff Verlag, 2012, 307 Seiten, gebunden, 42,- €. ISBN 978-3-402-13711-6

  


 

Adamantiana 1 - Origen and his Legacy in the Orient and Occident

Through his works as a teacher, exegete and philosopher, the Alexandrian Origen (185-253/254) laid the foundations of a Christian culture. One of the first Christian theologians, he engaged in the philosophical and religious discussions of his time at the highest intellectual level. Due to the breadth and boldness of his thought, Origen has not only had a major impact on all ecclesiastical traditions deriving from Late Antiquity, but was also a profound influence on the history of philosophy. The new Adamantiana series, opening with this volume, is dedicated to Origen’s thinking as well as to its legacy throughout the Orient and Occident, aiming to make it accessible for academic research in a wide range of disciplines.
Alfons Fürst (Hg.), Origenes und sein Erbe in Orient und Okzident (Adamantiana 1), Münster: Aschendorff Verlag, 2011, 266 Seiten, gebunden, 39,- €, ISBN 978-3-402-13710-9



From Origen and Jerome to Augustine

This volume offers insights into the works of three leading ancient theologians, and departs from the beaten paths of Christian dogma’s history. With his anthropology of freedom, Origen established the exegesis and theology of his time, laying the foundations of a Christian culture. Jerome, as the greatest philologist of the Old Church, and thanks to his knowledge of Hebrew and Greek, transferred Greek and Jewish knowledge of the Bible into the Latin West with his translations and commentaries. Augustine, although influenced by both, critically disputes their reasoning and thus develops an independent and significant Latin theology.
Alfons Fürst, Von Origenes und Hieronymus zu Augustinus. Studien zur antiken Theologiegeschichte (Arbeiten zur Kirchengeschichte 115), Berlin/New York: Verlag Walter de Gryuter, 2011, 536 Seiten, gebunden, 109,95 €. ISBN 978-3-11-025103-6

  


  

Natur und Normativität

The recourse to Natural Law, long taken for granted in Catholic thought, has by now become exhausted as a line of reasoning. However, the underlying arguments have not been sufficiently dealt with. This issue continues to arise today in the struggle to establish a ‘dense’ definition of nature. The contributions of this volume follow this discourse from both a historical and systematic perspective.
Alfons Fürst/Klaus Müller (Hg.), Natur und Normativität (Pontes 46), Berlin: LIT Verlag, 2010, 108 Seiten, 19,90 €, ISBN 978-3-643-10803-6


  

Origenes - The Homilies on the Book of Isaiah

In this volume, Origen’s seldom acknowledged homilies on Isaiah have been translated into German and provided with individual explanations as well as an extensive introduction. In the nine sermons preserved in Latin, the Alexandrian theologian analyses complex biblical motifs such as Israel’s stubbornness and Isaiah’s visions of God and the seraphim. Thus, within the context of a rich biblical and non-biblical tradition, which Origen deliberately connects with his exegesis and influenced by contemporary Platonic thought, a decidedly multi-layered account of the Book of Isaiah emerges, significantly contributing to the history of the interpretation of this key biblical text, as well as to the understanding of Origenian theology. Alongside questions concerning the historical tradition and reception of the text, the introduction also sheds light on the particularly complex background of Origen’s interpretation of Isaiah. The appendix also includes the collected testimonials to Origen’s lost Commentary on the Book of Isaiah, along with Theophilus of Alexandria’s original and translated treatise against Rigen’s exegesis, written during the first Origenian controversy.
Alfons Fürst/Christian Hengstermann, Origenes - Die Homilien zum Buch Jesaja (Origenes Werke mit deutscher Übersetzung 10), Berlin/New York: Verlag Walter de Gryuter, Freiburg/Basel/Wien: Verlag Herder, 2009, 400 Seiten, gebunden, Leinen, 104,95 €. ISBN 978-3-11-021509-0

  


  

© SBS

Christianity as a Religion of Intellectuals

The Beginnings of Christianity in Alexandria

Antique Christianity was not a religion restricted to the lower classes of society. Particularly in the metropolis of Alexandria, all Christians of the 2nd, and first half of the 3rd Century, who we nowadays know by name, were intellectuals, well-educated by contemporary standards and who construed their religious beliefs via their means of reasoning. Christianity in Alexandria began as a religion of and for intellectuals in the upper echelons of society, only becoming a religion of the masses with the passage of time. It is in this context that this report analyses the historical sources surrounding the beginnings of Christianity in Alexandria and Egypt. The appendix contains the first German translation of the of the three oldest potentially-Christian papyrus letters from the 2nd Century.
Alfons Fürst, Christentum als Intellektuellen-Religion. Die Anfänge des Christentums in Alexandria (Stuttgarter Bibel-Studien 213), Stuttgart: Katholisches Bibelwerk, 2007, 126 Seiten, Einband kartoniert, 22,80 €. ISBN 978-3-460-03134-0

Publikationen

  

  

Adamantiana 10
© AsV

Adamantiana 10 - Origenes in Frankreich

Die Origeniana Pierre-Daniel Huets

Die im Jahre 1668 publizierten Origeniana von Pierre-Daniel Huet (1630–1721) sind ein Meilenstein der Wissenschaftsgeschichte und der Origenesforschung. Sie enthalten die erste wissenschaftliche Analyse des Lebens, der Lehre und der Schriften des Origenes. Der französische Gelehrte Huet stand der Vernunfttheologie des christlichen Philosophen Origenes allerdings kritisch gegenüber. Gegen den Rationalismus von René Descartes’ Cogito ergo sum vertrat Huet einen radikalen Skeptizismus, dessen Misstrauen in die Vernunft in einen ebenso radikalen Fideismus mündete, in dem der Glaube der Vernunft übergeordnet ist. Aus dieser Einstellung heraus kritisierte Huet das Bemühen des Origenes um eine rationale Durchdringung des christlichen Glaubens: Mit seiner übermäßigen Betonung der Vernunft und der in ihr gründenden Freiheit habe der Alexandriner die Theologie auf falsche Wege gewiesen. Ungeachtet dieser ablehnenden Haltung hat Huet Origenes dennoch gegen ungerechtfertigte und überzogene Vorwürfe, wie sie in der Geschichte des Origenismus immer wieder vorgebracht worden sind, verteidigt und seine Gedanken auf der Basis einer wissenschaftlichen Methodik objektiv und kritisch dargestellt.
Alfons Fürst (Hg.), Origenes in Frankreich. Die Origeniana Pierre-Daniel Huets (Adamantiana 10), Münster: Aschendorff Verlag, 2017, 390 Seiten, gebunden, 59,- €. ISBN 978-3-402-13723-9

Hieronymus_AskeseundWissenschaft
© VHe

Hieronymus - Askese und Wissenschaft in der Spätantike

Choleriker mit misanthropischen Zügen, militanter Propagandist des asketischen Ideals, vielseitiger und produktiver Schriftsteller, Sprachgenie, fleißiger Übersetzer und origineller Wissenschaftler – all diese Beschreibungen treffen auf den Kirchenvater Hieronymus (347–419) zu. Hieronymus war ein Exzentriker. Er stammte aus der Provinz, machte in den Metropolen der spätantiken Welt (Rom, Konstantinopel, Antiochia) Karriere, kehrte in der zweiten Lebenshälfte aber wieder in die Provinz, diesmal nach Bethlehem in Palästina, zurück. Aufgrund seiner hebräischen Sprachkenntnisse vermochte er als einziger Theologe seiner Zeit, der christlichen Exegese jüdisches Bibelwissen zu erschließen.
Alfons Fürst beschreibt die theologischen Kontroversen, in die Hieronymus im Laufe seines spannungsreichen Lebens verwickelt war (Arianismus, Origenismus, Pelagianismus), erörtert seinen Beitrag zur Verbreitung der christlichen-asketischen Lebensform besonders unter Frauen der römischen Aristokratie und stellt seine innovativen wissenschaftlichen Leistungen als Übersetzer und Ausleger der Bibel dar. Die vielfältigen sozialen Beziehungen, in denen Hieronymus lebte, treten erstmals in Form einer Prosopographie lebendig vor Augen. Ausgewählte Texte (lateinisch-deutsch) gewähren einen unmittelbaren Einblick in sein Arbeiten.
Alfons Fürst, Hieronymus - Askese und Wissenschaft in der Spätantike, Freiburg im Breisgau: Verlag Herder, 2016, 448 Seiten, gebunden, ca. 39,99 €, ISBN: 978-3-451-31144-4

  


  

OWD 9_2
© VdG

Origenes - Die Homilien und Fragmente zum Hohelied

Mit seiner Auslegung des Hoheliedes habe Origenes sich selbst übertroffen. Mit diesem Lob machte Hieronymus Werbung für das christliche Genie aus Alexandria und übersetzte zu diesem Zweck zwei Predigten des Origenes über das biblische Lied auf die Liebe in das Lateinische. Von dessen Hoheliedauslegung im Kommentar haben sich, neben der lateinischen Übersetzung des Rufinus, auf Griechisch nur kleine, aber zahlreiche Fragmente erhalten.
Alfons Fürst/Holger Strutwolf, Origenes - Die Homilien und Fragmente zum Hohelied (Origenes Werke mit deutscher Übersetzung 9/2), Berlin/Boston: Verlag Walter de Gryuter, Freiburg/Basel/Wien, 2016, 288 Seiten, gebunden, Leinen, ca. 69,95 €. ISBN De Gruyter 978-3-11-046440-5

  


  

Owd9 1
© AKG Münster

Origenes - Der Kommentar zum Hohelied

Im Kommentar zum Hohelied, in dem Origenes sich nach den Worten des Hieronymus selbst übertroffen hat, deutet er die in einer dramatischen Erzählung geschilderte Liebe zwischen Braut und Bräutigam auf die Beziehung zwischen dem göttlichen Wort und der menschlichen Seele bzw. Christus und der Kirche. Da in der personalen Ekklesiologie des Origenes die Kirche eine kollektive Person aus den Seelen aller Gläubigen bildet, konvergieren die beiden Auslegungslinien und gehen oft ineinander über. Im Zuge der Auslegung werden Grundgedanken christlicher Spiritualität wie der Begriff der Liebe, die Ordnung der Liebe oder die Selbsterkenntnis als Weg zur Gotteserkenntnis ausführlich erläutert. Die Basis der Exegese bildet die Einstufung des Hoheliedes als höchster Stufe der christlichen Philosophie, auf der die vollkommene Seele zur Schau Gottes gelangt. Diese Deutung prägte die christliche Hoheliedauslegung, die bis an das Ende des Mittelalters aus Fußnoten zu Origenes besteht. Der Band enthält die erste deutsche Übersetzung dieses Kommentars mit ausführlichen Erläuterungen.
Alfons Fürst/Holger Strutwolf, Origenes - Der Kommentar zum Hohelied (Origenes Werke mit deutscher Übersetzung 9/1), Berlin/Boston: Verlag Walter de Gryuter, Freiburg/Basel/Wien: Verlag Herder, 2016, 481 Seiten, gebunden, Leinen, ca. 99,95 €. ISBN Herder 978-3-451-32913-5, ISBN De Gruyter 978-3-11-044255-7

  


  

Adamantiana 5

Adamantiana 5 - Origenes Humanista

Pico della Mirandolas Traktat De salute Origenis disputatio

Die Schriften des Origenes waren eine wichtige Inspirationsquelle für die geistigen Aufbrüche der Renaissance und des Humanismus. Ein Schlüsseltext hierfür ist die 1496 postum veröffentlichte Rede des Giovanni Pico della Mirandola (1463–1494) Über die Würde des Menschen von 1486, in der Freiheit als Konstituens des menschlichen Seins gedacht wird: Der Mensch bestimmt kraft seiner Freiheit selbst seine Stellung im Kosmos. Diese Fähigkeit zur Selbstbestimmung begründet die Verantwortung für sein Tun und macht seine Würde aus. Auch in seinen berühmten Neunhundert Thesen von 1486 äußerte sich Pico über Origenes: Es sei vernünftiger anzunehmen, Origenes sei erlöst, als anzunehmen, er sei verdammt. Unter anderem dafür der Häresie bezichtigt, verteidigte er sich und Origenes 1487 in einer Abhandlung Über das Heil des Origenes, der ersten ausführlichen Apologie des Genies aus Alexandria seit der Antike.
Alfons Fürst/Christian Hengstermann (Hg.), Origenes Humanista. Pico della Mirandolas Traktat De salute Origenis disputatio (Adamantiana 5), Münster: Aschendorff Verlag, 2015, 464 Seiten, gebunden, 62,- €. ISBN 978-3-402-13715-4

  


  

Owd 7

Origenes - Die Homilien zum Ersten Buch Samuel

Von den Predigten des Origenes zu den Samuel- und Königsbüchern sind nur wenige Reste erhalten geblieben. Darunter befindet sich die berühmte Homilie über die »Hexe« von Endor (1 Sam 28) mit Gedanken zur Höllenfahrt Christi. Der Band bietet erstmalig eine deutsche Übersetzung samt ausführlichen Erläuterungen in den Fußnoten. In der Einleitung werden die wichtigsten Daten zur Überlieferung und zum Inhalt dieser Homilien erläutert.
Alfons Fürst, Origenes - Die Homilien zum ersten Buch Samuel (Origenes Werke mit deutscher Übersetzung 7), Berlin/Boston: Verlag Walter de Gryuter, Freiburg/Basel/Wien: Verlag Herder, 2014, 318 Seiten, gebunden, Leinen, ca. 79,95 €. ISBN Herder 978-3-451-32908-1, ISBN De Gruyter 978-3-11-030088-8

  


  

Adamantiana 4

Adamantiana 4 - Die Cambridge Origenists

George Rusts Letter of Resolution Concerning Origen and the Chief of His Opinions

Die Jahre 1658–1662 stellen so etwas wie einen origenistischen Moment innerhalb der englischen Theologie dar, der neben Übersetzungen und Werkeditionen ganze im Geiste des Origenes entworfene philosophische Systementwürfe hervorbringt. Die 1661 anonym erscheinende Schrift des anglikanischen Bischofs George Rust ist ein Manifest des neuzeitlichen Origenismus: In kritischer Auseinandersetzung mit den neuen Philosophien eines Hobbes oder Descartes einerseits und der calvinistischen Theologie andererseits schreibt der Autor darin auf originelle Weise grundlegende Einsichten des Origenes fort.
Alfons Fürst/Christian Hengstermann (Hg.), Die Cambridge Origenists. George Rusts Letter of Resolution Concerning Origen and the Chief of His Opinions (Adamantiana 4), Münster: Aschendorff Verlag, 2013, 384 Seiten, gebunden, 52,- €. ISBN 978-3-402-13714-7

  


  

Anne Conways Principia Philosophiae

Materialismuskritik und Alleinheits-Spekulation im neuzeitlichen England

Die Principia philosophiae der Philosophin Anne Conway (1631-1979) stehen in der Tradition des von den 'Cambridge Platonists' begründeten ersten angelsächsischen Idealismus. Das Werk behandelt die metaphysischen Grundfragen der Philosophie des 17. Jahrhunderts, allen voran die des Verhältnisses von Geist und Materie und von endlicher Welt und unendlichem Absolutem. Der vorliegende Band, die erste deutschsprachige Publikation zum Thema, führt in das Denken der Cambridger Platoniker und das Leben und Werk Anne Conways ein und erschließt die leitenden Themen ihrer Principia philosophiae.
Christian Hengstermann/Ulrike Weichert (Hg.), Anne Conways Principia Philosophiae. Materialismuskritik und Alleinheits-Spekulation im neuzeitlichen England (Pontes 52), Berlin: LIT Verlag, 2012, 188 Seiten, 19,90 €. ISBN 978-3-643-11236-1

  


  

Adamantiana Band 2

Adamantiana 2 - Autonomie und Menschenwürde

Origenes in der Philosophie der Neuzeit

Mit ihrer Betonung der moralischen Autonomie des Menschen und seiner unveräußerlichen Würde als Abbild Gottes und ihrer universalen Hoffnungsperspektive hat die Theologie des Origenes (185-253/54) nachhaltig Einfluss auf das neuzeitliche Denken ausgeübt: Im europäischen Humanismus, im Platonismus der Schule von Cambridge und in der klassischen deutschen Philosophie wird das origeneische Freiheitsdenken auf vielfältige Weise rezipiert und weiter entfaltet. Anhand exemplarischer Schlaglichter aus der neuzeitlichen Philosophie- und Theologiegeschichte zeichnet der zweite Band der Reihe "Adamantiana" das Nachleben des Alexandriners bis zur Gegenwart nach. Origenes selbst erweist sich so als ein bedeutender geistiger Stammvater des neuzeitlichen Gedankens der Autonomie und Menschenwürde.
Alfons Fürst/Christian Hengstermann (Hg.), Autonomie und Menschenwürde. Origenes in der Philosophie der Neuzeit (Adamantiana 2), Münster: Aschendorff Verlag, 2012, 307 Seiten, gebunden, 42,- €. ISBN 978-3-402-13711-6

  


  

Adamantiana 1

Adamantiana 1 - Origenes und sein Erbe in Orient und Okzident

Der Alexandriner Origenes (185-253/54) hat mit seinem Wirken als Lehrer, Exeget und Philosoph die Grundlagen für eine christliche Kultur gelegt. Als erster christlicher Theologe beteiligte er sich auf intellektuell höchstem Niveau an den philosophischen und religiösen Debatten seiner Zeit. Mit der Weite und Kühnheit seines Denkens prägte er nicht nur maßgeblich das christliche Denken in allen von der Spätantike ausgehenden kirchlichen Traditionen, sondern übte auch einen tiefgehenden Einfluss auf die Philosphiegeschichte aus. Die neue Reihe "Adamantiana", die mit diesem Band eröffnet wird, ist sowohl dem Denken als auch der Wirkungsgeschichte des Origenes in Orient und Okzident gewidmet und will beides für die wissenschaftliche Forschung in verschiedenen Disziplinen erschließen.
Alfons Fürst (Hg.), Origenes und sein Erbe in Orient und Okzident (Adamantiana 1), Münster: Aschendorff Verlag, 2011, 266 Seiten, gebunden, 39,- €, ISBN 978-3-402-13710-9

  


  

Von Origenes Und Hieronymus Zu Augustinus_

Von Origenes und Hieronymus zu Augustinus

Studien zur antiken Theologiegeschichte

Der Band bietet Streifzüge durch das Wirken von drei führenden antiken Theologen abseits der üblichen Pfade der christlichen Dogmengeschichte. Origenes begründet mit seiner Freiheitsanthropologie die wissenschaftliche Exegese und Theologie auf dem Niveau der Zeit und legt die Grundlagen für eine christliche Kultur. Hieronymus, der größte Philologe der Alten Kirche, übermittelt in seinen Übersetzungen und Kommentaren griechisches und dank seiner Hebräischkenntnisse auch jüdisches Bibelwissen an den lateinischen Westen. Augustinus ist von beiden beeinflusst, entwickelt aber in kritischer Auseinandersetzung mit ihnen eine eigenständige und folgenreiche lateinische Theologie.
Alfons Fürst, Von Origenes und Hieronymus zu Augustinus. Studien zur antiken Theologiegeschichte (Arbeiten zur Kirchengeschichte 115), Berlin/New York: Verlag Walter de Gryuter, 2011, 536 Seiten, gebunden, 109,95 €. ISBN 978-3-11-025103-6

  


  

Natur und Normativitaet

Natur und Normativität

Der im katholischen Milieu lange wie selbstverständlich verankerte Rekurs auf das Naturrecht ist als Argumentationsressource ausgeschöpft. Nicht erledigt ist damit aber das dahinter stehende Anliegen. Es meldet sich heute in einem hintergründigen Ringen um einen "dichten" Naturbegriff.
Die Beiträge des Bandes spüren dem in historischer wie systematischer Perspektive nach.
Alfons Fürst/Klaus Müller (Hg.), Natur und Normativität (Pontes 46), Berlin: LIT Verlag, 2010, 108 Seiten, 19,90 €, ISBN 978-3-643-10803-6

  


  

Owd 10

Origenes - Die Homilien zum Buch Jesaja

In der vorliegenden Ausgabe werden die bislang wenigbeachteten Jesajahomilien des Origenes erstmalig ins Deutsche übersetzt sowie mit Einzelerklärungen und einer umfangreichen Einleitung versehen. In den neun lateinisch erhaltenen Predigten setzt sich der alexandrinische Theologe mit so diffizilen biblischen Motiven wie der Verstockung Israels und Jesajas berühmter Gottes- und Seraphenvision auseinander. Im Kontext einer reichen inner- und außerbiblischen Tradition, in die Origenes sich mit seiner Auslegung bewusst stellt, und im Rekurs auf das platonische Denken seiner Zeit entsteht so eine ausgesprochen vielschichtige Darstellung der Theologie des Jesajabuches, die für die Geschichte der Auslegung dieses biblischen Schlüsseltextes ebenso interessant und ergiebig ist wie für das Bild der origeneischen Theologie . Neben Fragen der wechselvollen Überlieferungs- und Rezeptionsgeschichte beleuchtet die Einleitung den überaus komplexen Hintergrund der Jesajadeutung des Origenes. Ein Anhang, in dem die Testimonien zu dem nicht erhaltenen Jesajakommentar des Origenes gesammelt und der im ersten Origenismusstreit entstandene Traktat des Theophilus von Alexandria gegen die origeneische Auslegung mit Übersetzung abgedruckt ist, schließen den Band ab.
Alfons Fürst/Christian Hengstermann, Origenes - Die Homilien zum Buch Jesaja (Origenes Werke mit deutscher Übersetzung 10), Berlin/New York: Verlag Walter de Gryuter, Freiburg/Basel/Wien: Verlag Herder, 2009, 400 Seiten, gebunden, Leinen, 104,95 €. ISBN 978-3-11-021509-0

  


  

Christentumalsintellektuellenreligion
© SBS

Christentum als Intellektuellen-Religion

Die Anfänge des Christentums in Alexandria

Das antike Christentum war keine auf die unteren Schichten der Gesellschaft beschränkte Religion. Besonders in der Großstadt Alexandria waren alle namentlich bekannten Christen des 2. und beginnenden 3. Jahrhunderts Intellektuelle, nach den Maßstäben der Antike gebildete Menschen, die ihre religiöse Überzeugung mit den Mitteln der Vernunft explizierten. Christentum in Alexandria begann als Intellektuellen-Religion in den oberen Schichten und wurde erst im Laufe seiner Geschichte zu einer Religion auch für einfache Leute. Im Rahmen der Darstellung dieser Zusammenhänge analysiert die Studie die Quellen zu den Anfängen des Christentums in Alexandria und Ägypten. Der Anhang enthält die erste deutsche Übersetzung der drei ältesten möglicherweise christlichen Papyrusbriefe aus dem 2. Jahrhundert.
Alfons Fürst, Christentum als Intellektuellen-Religion. Die Anfänge des Christentums in Alexandria (Stuttgarter Bibel-Studien 213), Stuttgart: Katholisches Bibelwerk, 2007, 126 Seiten, Einband kartoniert, 22,80 €. ISBN 978-3-460-03134-0