Project Timeline

2012

The German Research Foundation (DFG) approved the final phase of the long-term project dedicated to the volumes "Basic Research 1542 to 1700" ("Grundlagenforschung 1542-1700"). In addition to the daily backup, the entire secure database was mirrored quarterly and will remain archived beyond the end of the project.

2009

The volumes "Basic Research 1701 to 1813" ("Grundlagenforschung 1701-1813") were published. To mark the occasion, experts from different countries gathered in Münster from 1 to 3 December for an interdisciplinary symposium. The topic was "Inquisitions and Book Censorship in the Age of Enlightenment".

See the conference report on the information and communication platform H-Soz-Kult.

Wolf von Lojewski and Hubert Wolf during filming in Rome
© Privat

2008

On the occasion of the tenth anniversary of the opening of the Archive of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, Inquisition researchers assembled in Rome for a symposium (21-23 February) to take stock of what had been achieved. A two-part documentary on the Index of Forbidden Books was produced in Rome for the German public service broadcaster ZDF.

The film, hosted by Wolf von Lojewski, was based on the research findings of the Book Censorship Project (14-25 April).

Professor Wolf and DFG President Professor Winnacker attended a private audience with Pope Benedict XVI.
© Privat

2006

The volumes"Basic Research 1814 to 1917" ("Grundlagenforschung 1814-1917") were presented to Pope Benedict XVI at a private audience with the project staff, a delegation from the DFG and Schöningh publishing house (15 March).

Professor Hubert Wolf received the Gutenberg Prize from the City of Mainz and the International Gutenberg Society (24 June). The jury acknowledged Wolf's research, and that of his staff, on Roman book censorship as a "milestone for transdisciplinary book studies".

2005

The volumes "Basic Research 1814 to 1917" were presented during the course of an international symposium (29 November to 1 December). As at the symposium that had taken place in 2000, leading representatives from Church and politics participated alongside Inquisition and censorship researchers from all over Europe. The NRW Minister for Innovation, Technology and Research, Andreas Pinkwart, was one of the guest speakers. In total, several hundred visitors came to Münster for the symposium.

Professor Hubert Wolf (centre) at the award ceremony in Stuttgart.
© Privat

2004

The Communicator Award, which recognizes the outstanding communication of academic research to a wider audience, was awarded to Professor Hubert Wolf (30 September).

2003

Professor Hubert Wolf was awarded the DFG's Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize for his research on Roman book censorship and other topics (17 February).

2002

Dominik Burkard, a research associate in the book censorship project, was awarded his Habilitation. He was subsequently appointed to the Chair of Church History of the Middle Ages and Modern Times at the University of Würzburg.

Claus Arnold, an assistant professor at the Department of Medieval and Modern Church History in Münster, was awarded his Habilitation for his thesis "The Roman Censorship of the Works of Cajetan and Contarini (1558-1601)". In 2004 he became Professor of Church History at the Goethe University in Frankfurt am Main.

2000

The project’s international symposium was held in Frankfurt (15-18 May). The patron was the Prefect of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, Joseph Cardinal Ratzinger. The Hessian Minister of Higher Education, Research and the Arts, Ruth Wagner, opened the conference.

Hubert Wolf accepted the position of Chair at the University of Münster. The book censorship project was transferred to Münster.

The book censorship project was housed at the Hansahof in Münster.

1999

DFG funding began (1 January). The project was located in the Collaborative Research Centre "Culture of Knowledge and Social Change" in Frankfurt am Main (SFB/FK 435, Project B 4: Roman Inquisition, Congregation of the Index and Imprimatur in the Modern Era).

Hubert Wolf was appointed to the Academic Advisory Board of the Archive of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith.

1998

The Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith officially announced the opening of the archives of the Inquisition and the Congregation of the Index for research at a symposium (22 January).

The German Research Foundation (DFG) approved Hubert Wolf's research project proposal for the exploration and description of sources on Roman book censorship from the Archive of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith.

Archive of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith in the Palace of the Holy Office in Rome.

1992

Hubert Wolf became one of the first scholars to receive special authorization from the Vatican to undertake archival studies in the "Archivio della Congregazione per la Dottrina della Fede". At the time, Wolf was Professor of Church History at the Goethe University in Frankfurt am Main.

Chronik

2012

Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) bewilligt die Abschlussphase des Langfristvorhabens, die den Bänden "Grundlagenforschung 1542-1700" gewidmet ist. Neben dem täglichen Backup wird der komplette gesicherte Datenbestand vierteljährlich gespiegelt und bis über das Projektende hinaus archiviert.


2009

Die Bände "Grundlagenforschung 1701-1813" erscheinen. Aus diesem Anlass kommen in Münster Experten aus unterschiedlichen Ländern vom 1. bis zum 3. Dezember zu einem interdisziplinären Symposium zusammen. Das Thema: Inquisitionen und Buchzensur im Zeitalter der Aufklärung.

Siehe dazu den Tagungsbericht auf H-Soz-u-Kult.


© Privat

2008

Anlässlich des zehnten Jahrestags der Öffnung des Archivs der Glaubenskongregation versammeln sich Inquisitionsforscher in Rom zu einem Symposion und ziehen eine erste Bilanz (21. bis 23. Februar). In Rom entsteht für das ZDF eine zweiteilige Dokumentation über den Index der verbotenen Bücher.

Der Film, der auf den Forschungsergebnissen des Buchzensur-Projekts basiert, wird von Wolf von Lojewski moderiert (14. bis 25. April).

Wolf von Lojewski und Hubert Wolf bei den Dreharbeiten in Rom

  


© Privat

2006

Die Bände "Grundlagenforschung 1814-1917" werden in einer Privataudienz von Projektmitarbeitern sowie einer Delegation von DFG und Schöningh-Verlag Papst Benedikt XVI. überreicht (15. März).

Hubert Wolf erhält den Gutenberg-Preis der Stadt Mainz und der Internationalen Gutenberg-Gesellschaft (24. Juni). Die Jury würdigt die Forschungen Wolfs und seiner Mitarbeiter zur Römischen Buchzensur als "Meilenstein für die transdisziplinär orientierte Buchwissenschaft".

Porf. Wolf und DFG-Präsident Prof. Winnacker bei einer Privataudienz mit Papst Benedikt XVI.


2005

Präsentation der Bände "Grundlagenforschung 1814-1917" im Rahmen einer internationalen Fachtagung (29. November bis 1. Dezember). Wie bereits beim Symposion von 2000 nehmen neben Inquisitions- und Zensurforschern aus ganz Europa führende Vertreter aus Kirche und Politik teil. Zu den Gastrednern gehört Wissenschaftsminister Andreas Pinkwart. Insgesamt kommen für das Symposion mehrere Hundert Besucher nach Münster.


© Privat

2004

Der Communicator-Preis, der die herausragende Vermittlung wissenschaftlicher Forschung an ein breiteres Publikum würdigt, geht an Hubert Wolf (30. September).

Hubert Wolf (Mitte) bei der Preisverleihung in Stuttgart.

 

 


2003

Hubert Wolf wird unter anderem für seine Forschungen zur Römischen Buchzensur mit dem Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis der DFG ausgezeichnet (17. Februar).


2002

Dominik Burkard, wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Buchzensur-Projekt, wird habilitiert. Er erhält den Lehrstuhl für Kirchengeschichte des Mittelalters und der Neuzeit an der Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg.

Claus Arnold, Wissenschaftlicher Assistent am Seminar für Mittlere und Neuere Kirchengeschichte in Münster, wird mit einer Arbeit über die "Die römische Zensur der Werke Cajetans und Contarinis (1558-1601)" habilitiert. 2004 wird er Professor für Kirchengeschichte an der Goethe-Universität in Frankfurt am Main.


2000

Internationales Symposion des Projekts in Frankfurt (15. bis 18. Mai). Schirmherr ist der Präfekt der Glaubenskongregation Joseph Kardinal Ratzinger. Die hessische Wissenschaftsministerin Ruth Wagner eröffnet die Tagung.

Hubert Wolf folgt einem Ruf an die Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität. Das Buchzensur-Projekt wird nach Münster verlegt.

Der Hansahof in Münster beherbergt die Räume des Buchzensur-Projekts.


1999

Die DFG-Förderung beginnt (1. Januar). Das Projekt ist im Sonderforschungsbereich "Wissenskultur und gesellschaftlicher Wandel" in Frankfurt am Main angesiedelt (SFB/FK 435, Teilprojekt B 4: Römische Inquisition, Indexkongregation und Imprimatur in der Neuzeit).

Hubert Wolf wird in den wissenschaftlichen Beirat des Archivs der Glaubenskongregation berufen.


1998

Die Glaubenskongregation gibt auf einer Fachtagung offiziell die Öffnung der Archive von Inquisition und Indexkongregation für die Forschung bekannt (22. Januar).

Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) bewilligt den Projektantrag Hubert Wolfs auf Erforschung und Erschließung der Quellen zur Römischen Buchzensur aus dem Archiv der Glaubenskongregation.


1992

Als einer der ersten Wissenschaftler erhält Hubert Wolf eine Sondergenehmigung des Vatikans für Quellenstudien im "Archivio della Congregazione per la Dottrina della Fede". Wolf ist zu dieser Zeit Professor für Kirchengeschichte an der Goethe-Universität in Frankfurt am Main.

Das Archiv der Glaubenskongregation im ehemaligen Palast der Inquisition in Rom.