Organisch-Chemisches Institut
Corrensstr. 40 D-48149 Münster
Tel.: +49 251 83-33210
Fax: +49 251 83-39772


SFB Image Speaker of the SFB:
Prof. Dieter Hoppe

Tel.: +49 (0)251 83 33275
Fax: +49 (0)251 83 39772

In January 1997, the Sonderforschungsbereich (SFB) 424 "Molecular Orientation as a Function in Chemical Systems" was established by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) at the Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster. 11 research groups from the Faculty of Natural Sciences coordinate their efforts directed towards the topic "Molecular Orientation and its Functions in Chemical Systems" in close cooperations.
From then on, research groups from the Institute of Organic Chemistry (Prof. Erker, Prof. Hoppe, Prof. Redlich, Prof. Schäfer and Prof. Würthwein), the  Institute of Inorganic Chemistry (Prof. Hahn, Prof. Krebs, Dr. Tamm), the Institute of Biochemistry (Prof. Galla) and the Institute of Physics (Prof. Fuchs) took an active part in the scientific program.
In 1999 the DFG decided to extend the support for the SFB for another period of three years, including several new research groups from the Institute of Organic Chemistry (Prof. Haufe, Dr. Göttlich, Dr. Waldvogel), the Institute of Anorganic and Analytical Chemistry ( Dr. Rompel, the Institute of Biochemistry (Dr. Steinem) and the Institute of Mineralogy (Prof. Putnis) and since 2001 the research groups from the Institute of Organic Chemistry (Prof. Grimme, Prof. Klaffke).


The present members of the Sonderforschungsbereich for the third period (2003 – 2005) are recruited from four institutes of the university.

Institute of Organic Chemistry: Prof. Dr. G. Erker, HD Dr. R. Göttlich (moved to the University of Gießen in 2005), Prof. Dr. S. Grimme, Prof. Dr. G. Haufe, Prof. Dr. D. Hoppe (speaker of the SFB), Prof. Dr. H. Redlich, Prof. Dr. H. J. Schäfer, PD Dr. S. R. Waldvogel (moved to the University of Bonn in 2003), Prof. Dr. E.-U. Würthwein,

Institute of Inorganic and Analytic Chemistry: PD Dr. T. Glaser (moved to the University of Bielefeld in 2005), Prof. Dr. F. E. Hahn, Prof. Dr. B. Krebs, Prof. Dr. N. W. Mitzel (from 2004), PD Dr. A. Rompel, HD Dr. M. Tamm (moved to the University of Braunschweig in 2005), 

Institute of Biochemistry: Prof. Dr. H.-J. Galla,

Institute of Physics: Prof. Dr. L. Chi, Prof. Dr. H. Fuchs.

The aim of the Sonderforschungsbereich is to achieve a better understanding for the influence of the relative orientation of simpler molecules on their mutual interactions, subsequently utilizing the results for developing selective processes. These include stereoselective organic synthesis, design of catalysts, of enzyme-like compounds and, as well, of membranes and other two-dimensional systems.
The Sonderforschungsbereich is provided with a budget for supporting more than 25 PhD student positions and for maintaining a program of high quality, such as symposia or individual invitations of distinguished scientists.  The advancement and encouragement of highly qualified young talents is a particular concern of the Sonderforschungsbereich.


List of Projects


  Executive Secretary of the SFB:
Prof. Hartmut Redlich

Tel.: +49 (0)251 83 33251
Fax: +49 (0)251 83 36504
SFB Office
Tel.: +49 (0)251 83 33242
Fax: +49 (0)251 83 39772

Impressum | © 2016 Organisch-Chemisches Institut
Organisch-Chemisches Institut
Corrensstr. 40
· D-48149 Münster
Tel.: +49 251 83-33210 · Fax: +49 251 83-39772