© WWU - Robert Klapper

Research at the Faculty of Biology

At the Faculty of Biology, we put a strong focus on basic research. For this,  we utilizing third-party funding in cooperation with national and international researchers and work in close collaboration with industry.

Our faculty has defined research priorities which involve multiple institutes at our university, emphasizing the interdisciplinarity of modern biology. This is especially important in order to increase the efficiency of fundamental as well as applied research and to help maintaining and strengthening our research for years to come. In order to support this, in the last years we have begun a re-structuring process that led to a focus on three sustainable priorities. These are:

Biotechnology
Evolutionary Biology and Biodiversity
Molecular Cell Biology and Physiology

With this, our faculty has created a clear structure, based on three  innovative and future-oriented research areas. These areas are covered by several of the seven institutes that comprise our faculty. Currently, the research carried out at our faculty heavily requires third-party funding. This includes DFG (German Research Society) funded research such as participation in the Cells-in-Motion Cluster of Excellence, the Research Training Groups "Molecular basis of dynamic cellular processes" and "Molecular interactions of pathogens with biotic and abiotic surfaces" as well as involvement in various so-called "Collaborative Research Centres" (CRC).
We cooperate with many national and international universities and research institutes. An overview of our international cooperation can be found here.

Forschen
© WWU - Robert Klapper

Forschen am Fachbereich Biologie

Der Fachbereich Biologie betrachtet Grundlagenforschung als eine seiner zentralen Aufgaben. Diese wird unter Einsatz erheblicher Drittmittel in enger Kooperation mit nationalen und internationalen Forschergruppen und teilweise mit der Industrie durchgeführt.

Der Fachbereich Biologie zeichnet sich durch die Bildung von institutsübergreifenden Schwerpunkten aus, die eine unbedingte Voraussetzung darstellen, um die Effizienz der Grundlagenforschung wie auch der angewandten Forschung langfristig zu stärken und zu erhalten. Aus diesem Grund ist in den letzten Jahren eine Umstrukturierung begonnen worden, die zur Fokussierung der Aktivitäten auf drei tragfähige Schwerpunkte führte. Dies sind:

Biotechnologie
Evolutionsbiologie und Biodiversität
Molekulare Zellbiologie und Physiologie

Der Fachbereich hat damit eine klare Struktur in der Forschung, die auf drei zukunftsweisenden Forschungsschwerpunkten basiert. An den drei Schwerpunkten sind jeweils mehrere Institute beteiligt. Die wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten im Fachbereich sind im gegenwärtigen Umfang nur durch erhebliche Drittmitteleinwerbung möglich. Die durch Drittmittel unterstützte Forschung umfasst neben Einzelprojekten insbesondere auch die Mitwirkung am Exzellenzcluster Cells in Motion, sowie mehrere DFG-Forschungsschwerpunkte, die Graduiertenkollegs "Molecular basis of dynamic cellular processes" und "Molecular interactions of pathogens with biotic and abiotic surfaces" sowie die Beteiligung an Sonderforschungsbereichen. Der Fachbereich kooperiert sowohl mit nationalen als auch internationalen Universitäten und Forschungsinstituten. Eine Übersicht über unsere internationalen Kooperationen finden Sie  hier.